You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Transgender: Ask Me Anything - What questions might Steemit users have but been afraid to ask?

in #lgbt8 years ago

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this subject! Being a curious person I watched many documentaries about transgender. I have found out that adjusting your voice can be difficult. Is this something that you struggle with?

Sort:  

Happy to share! :)

I have found out that adjusting your voice can be difficult. Is this something that you struggle with?

This is very very true! For female to male transpeople the voice change isn't always as much of an issue. For many after taking testosterone for a period their vocal cords actually thicken and deepen much like a boy going through puberty. For some though, the voice doesn't drop as much as they want.

For male to female transpeople this can be a little tougher. The vocal cords have already 'thickened' and short of surgery (which I'm personally not a fan of) the raising of the voice is achieved through practice. Female hormones don't have much if any effect on a transwoman's voice. There are lot of free and pay for resources out there like this, even an app on voice training. I managed to find a few tips and run with them.
I've done voice impressions for a long time, so it helped having the ability to notice and control certain 'noise effects' of my speech. I used singing as a fun and helpful practice tool that got me more comfortable in higher scales without having a 'grumble' as I call it. Working in a call center for year or so also was great practice, especially having a gender neutral name like Corey. Callers determined my gender solely by my voice, inflection, and vocabulary.

I've gotten way more comfortable with my voice over the years and It's also fallen 'naturally' into a more feminine sound nowadays. But I do have days (especially with sick) where I struggle, or when I'm tired and just don't care. :P

Great Question!

It's great that it isn't that much of an issue for you. Sometimes little things happen in life, like voice impressions; then you realize most of the things happen for a reason. It's great that there is an app.I didn't know.

Thank you! :)
I've definitely appreciated the areas that I felt I got lucky or had a head start on. (supporting family/friends, voice control, some ability to pass, etc.)

There have been a good number of transgender resources around with a boom of options in the last 5 years or so. Even just looking up transgender voice training on youtube will give a ton of people giving their own take, tips and tricks. (about as common as the beginner steemit how to guides, lol)

While specifically about voice, I found the TransTimelines thread on reddit to be very useful and inspiring.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57687.08
ETH 2333.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36