Dear Umfundisi...

in #letter7 years ago (edited)

7b07f023b4f08dfee6098a765b9fdb85.jpg


Umfundisi,

I hope my letter meets you well. Did you try to call from Cape Town as today is my ninth birthday? Our home phone has been off since yesterday because we have not had light for three weeks now. Dad said the transformer is bad and the other houses in our estate are reluctant to contribute money for a new one. Umfundisi, remember I told you I want to become a politician and run for office. I want to make my country better.

But Umfundisi my daddy doesn't want me to be anything other than a nurse or a doctor. I told you how my dad always whines about missing the chance to be the first lawyer from my village because no one sent him to school when he was young. That makes him still very very bitter.

Daddy seized my “Black Africa” and I only read two chapters. Daddy took away my crotchet hooks and yarns. Right now I am writing you this letter from the hospital ward since I have to follow him to work everyday throughout my vacation. Umfundisi, I am scared each time I see a mattress aired on the varendah of the ward. I overheard someone say that means someone who laid on it died. Is that true?

Last week there was this man that was brought in covered with blood. I couldn't stand the sight. I couldn't feel my feet. I felt like I was not having enough oxygen. And, Umfundisi, I could not eat anything afterwards. Daddy just said I will get used to it when I go to the university to study medicine. He said he used to have the same feeling till he got to the school of nursing. But I don't want to get used to it.

Umfundisi, did you follow the news of our elections? Do you have cable TV? Does your cable TV even create time for news about other African countries? Over here it is America, America and America. You won't believe it, a woman is the new Minister of Arts and Culture. I am really happy about that. It means one day I can become a president.

I had to change school. The mission were forced to hand over our school to the government. And daddy thinks it is no longer okay now the government is in charge. I think daddy is correct. Everything the government controls seems to refuse to work properly. My new school is a private school. The walls are colourful and the kids are nice, but they don't teach history and how to write and read our local language. My mum promised to take me on personal classes to compensate for that, but you know she's always busy with work at the court.

I miss all of you, Umfundisi. I miss Yandisa. Tell her I am now older than her, at least for the next four months till her ninth birthday. Tell her my daddy ordered a cake shaped like a stethoscope for me. Tell her I hate it. I hope to come to Cape Town and spend some time with you all. Of course when I'm grown and have made my own money.

From me,
Nene

imagesource

Sort:  

Oh! A girl whose dreams are moulded by the wishes of her frustrated father! She will grow up to be a strong, determined woman.

Wow... there is a powerful sadness to this. Well done. It hurts my heart to think that there are people that have to endure this. Especially at the age of nine. What happens to the little girl? Does she become a politician? How do things work out in her village, and with her father? You've hooked me, my friend.

I am going to take you into the world of this little girl one letter at a time. I'm glad you took an interest. Thank you my friend, for always reading and baring your thoughts.

As we discussed, I am excited for the story to develop. I have directions I want it to go, but I want to see where you take it. :)

A great story telling of the sadness of the Africa I grew up in and no longer live in. One day I too will go back to Cape Town

This has been war between father and child so many times especially when the parent are academicians or they are into white collar job they try all they could to dictate the future of there child. I am waiting to see what become the end of the small daughter and the father decision.

Well done friend.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by misterakpan from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

@misterakpan I enjoy reading your posts. This is truly a moving letter. A young girls dreams replaced by those of her father...her reality difficult and one she wishes to change...her future affected by the world around her and set expectations...

Yeah. A little girl between a rock and a hard place. Unfortunately this is people's stories.

Beautiful but so sad. Thanks for sharing. Looking forward to reading the next letter.

Thank you for reading. I will do my best to deliver on that expectation.

Sadly a lot of African kids are still suffering from the I can say this first hand
I really don't know to help it even when we have tried for some of our mates the will of the parent is so strong they even send them packing. I know change would come no matter how slow it may be

I really don't know what the root cause of this could be. I had to wrestle my kid brother's dreams out from my parent's hand back to him.

at least you did men. You are lucky but things are changing sha

God help us

Sad story, that unfortunately is true and also the fate of many young girls in our world today. Her father want's all the best for her, but I can really understand her frustration:( I wish her all good in life and hope she will find a way. Great written!

Thank you for reading, K. I'm sorry I'm responding late. This really is a predicament that is prevalent, and one I had to battle with myself. I don't know what fuels such insentivity.

Such a well crafted story couched in this letter, you do a magnificent job of sharing the struggles of family, government and current affairs in this letter.... the voice is convincing of a young pre-adolescent struggling with very real-world, adult issues. I look forward to this series.

Thank you for finding time to stop by, Janelle. I accept the task of a sequel to this. Maybe lots of them 😉

I sit awaiting ❤😁

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57839.82
ETH 3132.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43