You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gunpowder and Cannons at the Castle of Silves? LMAC #29

in #letsmakeacollage5 years ago

I love castles and such but there are very few of those here in the US, so my opportunity to develop that awe has been limited. An American revolution fort or two is as close as we get here, besides mansions which just piss me off or McMansions which horrify me. I experience a reverence for history whenever I am in a canoe on a river or lake and I envision the peoples who lived on this soil at around the same time y'all are imagining the goings on in medieval castles. No gunpowder in those canoes, although they may have known how to make saltpeter from their urine. Thanks for that particular link @agmoore.

Sort:  

I have similar thoughts too, with regard to the native peoples who lived in my country of origin (Brazil), from back in the time when here in Europe they were already building monasteries and castles. I remember this one time, we stayed in a little B&B which was in a 600 year-old building! I remember thinking ... 'wow, my country as it's known today is only about 500 years old!'.

Ah! I did not know you were born in Brazil. How is it you came to Portugal (Portugal?)? Family I'm guessing.

I wonder if I would feel the weight of all that has happened in a building like that. I've never been in one. I'll be sure to stay in those if I ever manage to leave the US.

Not only family, but studies, work, better life style ... I lived in Chile before, and before that I lived in England :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62797.54
ETH 2442.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68