You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Troll King in Shaka's Lets Make A Collage

in #letsmakeacollage5 years ago (edited)

As I read your comment I think of how it ties into your blog on narratives. Myth, folklore, stories...they all help to inform us about our past and our culture.
I've been listening to geology tapes, and it's hard to think of the earth as something separate from life. It does have a will of its own, and it exerts that will all the time. Myth and folklore are non-science ways of explaining our place in this age-old activity.
Never watched Lord of the Rings, nor did I read it. Somehow couldn't get interested. I have seen snippets from time to time on cable TV. The scenery is magnificent. If it wasn't such a long trip and so expensive, New Zealand would be on top of my list of places to visit.

BTW: you have to watch that clip @tellurian sent me (above). It is hilarious.

Sort:  

Yes, absolutely agree.

Oh, it surprises me that you did not get into Lord of the Rings. The books are much different from the films. A lot of songs, poets and some creatures and features nobody would have thought of before.

But my man always says: Why do you need three thousand pages just to let some Hobbits throw a ring into a volcano? Also, couldn't they just have flew there with some eagles and do the job? LOL.
He's really unjust about Tolkien's fantasy.
It's because he didn't read it and therefore it's not a book important enough. HaHa, he can be such a snob sometimes. Of course, I dare to say as I love him dearly.

Watched the above clip and find it fascinating what one man can do alone. Quite creative and funny!

Why do you need three thousand pages just to let some Hobbits throw a ring into a volcano? Also, couldn't they just have flew there with some eagles and do the job? LOL

He is funny! That's the kind of literary analysis I like to read :))

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64573.45
ETH 3441.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51