You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Gunpowder and Cannons at the Castle of Silves? LMAC #29

in #letsmakeacollage5 years ago (edited)

Dear Abigail,
How happy you make me with your thoughtful and informative response. It is heartening that you picked up on the intention of my first paragraph, and my collage. Neither the collage nor first paragraph reflect a fascination with war, but rather a deep regret that we have become increasingly efficient at killing each other.
I'm not familiar with Diamond, but boy do I love that quote. I will become familiar with his writing in the future.
Your pictures are magnificent. I'm not surprised that castles dot the landscape. When I think of the long history of the Iberian peninsula and the many many battles that have been fought over this and that bit of territory...castles are relics of those battles.
One more thought before I end: look at the dialogue that has ensued between different visitors to this one post. If people think Steemit is purely about financial speculation, I challenge them to look at this conversation. Some of my favorite people have commented here. It doesn't feel virtual. It feels real.
Thank you for the gift of your time, your insight, your wisdom and the role you play in stimulating dialogue.
Love, from very, very chilly New York,
Your friend,
AG

Sort:  

I know @agmoore, isn't fascinating? Steemit is definitely a place where one can meet truly incredible, smart people. Where one can learn and have very engaging conversations. In my experience, those who regard Steemit as a failure (or whatever they say) are those who haven't managed to look beyond the the financial side of the platform <3

Keep yourself warm over there! We trying to do the same here :D
Ps: Last Friday night we locked ourselves out of the house. It was raining, windy and extremely cold! :P But luckily we had the car keys and still managed to catch the locksmith open (a grumpy French man who spoke little Portuguese and virtually no English). It was a night to remember! 😅

Much love to you, as always :*

key.jpg🌨😟


🍀🌼 🍀😇

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 62504.18
ETH 2430.44
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.60