Thankful for family - and Legos :) [GREAT WHITE SHARK ATTACK]

in #lego6 years ago (edited)

We had a fun Thanksgiving dinner.

We ate at a friend's house with my wife's extended family and friends. Our contribution to bring to the dinner was stuffing. I have mentioned previously I love making my own soup stocks, so I had a secret weapon up my sleeve in the stuffing battle.

But what really made my night was the huge tub of Legos in the kids' room. I was happy to "keep an eye on the kids" i.e. geek out building Legos :) I sat on the floor and was an island of serene lego meditation while the kids crashed like waves around me.

My nephew Evan created this charming scene. He slit the dinosaur's throat and made a pool of blood out of Legos :) Atta boy.


@thingone asked me to make him a great white shark.

My first rummage through the tub of pieces turned up a space shuttle cockpit and a piece of a star wars space ship I think. I decided I would use these as the lower and upper jaws respectively and scaled the rest of the shark to match.

Like any good Lego builder will tell you, having your pieces together before you start building is essential if you want to create a structurally sound masterpiece :) I spent a while rummaging around in the bin (resisting the urge to dump it out on the carpet, which would have been unwise with the number of kids running around) pulling out white and gray pieces. I was mostly looking for some good way to articulate the jaws and tail. Finally I found my huckleberry :) A long piece with ball joints on either end and a 4 x 4x2 connection surface on both sides of the ball joint for stability.


You can see one of the ball joints here connecting the body to the tail

Once I found that piece I assembled the basic structure of the shark in short order:


In its natural habitat

That is as far as I got before pausing to eat dinner. I did manage to come back to it and get it relatively well finished before I left, adding eyes and fleshing out the fins and stomach more.

Great White Shark


Post cover image taken by my friend, I don't know exactly how but I assume it is some kind of phone magic LOL
BTW the guy that is flipping off the camera literally humped my leg after dinner (but before the desserts). Last night was the first time I had ever met him LOL

Sort:  

Hi @carlgnash!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 5.494 which ranks you at #579 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 2 places in the last three days (old rank 581).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 242 contributions, your post is ranked at #191.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You've built up a nice network.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Try to work on user engagement: the more people that interact with you via the comments, the higher your UA score!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

That is a fantastic great white!
I don't think my lego skills are on your level.

Since the family was outta town, I spent Thanksgiving making silly videos. I hope you didn't have any fast eating lads at your house.

Happy Holidaze!!!

My lego skills are next level :)

Happy Thanksgiving @carlgnash & family!
Legos I love legos too, heck I still got my
ancient legos :-)) OMG blood red legos lol

Yeah the lego blood trail cracked me up

Thank you for the follow. I appreciate it.

woooow I love legos too <3 i have a little pirats collection!

A lovely Thanksgiving shark! 🦈

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63635.72
ETH 2597.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.91