Steemit is really legit? I'm skeptical :/

in #legit8 years ago (edited)

Ok well here goes nothing, let's see if this is the real deal and I can actually make money for my family...

This is my first time posting on this site, and as much as my gut is telling me this is a scam or complete waste of my time, my heart is living on a prayer that this gift might actually be something amazing and the future of social media! I have my fingers crossed that this is a way I can help support my family on my own. Share your stories!

And what does the number next to your name mean???

Sort:  

Only been here a couple of days but it seems legit, it takes work and luck to get noticed though. I just like that I can search the place through subjects so not having to scroll through endless pictures of peoples dinners.

I'm hoping so! yeah don't want to feel like i'm on Instagram again haha. thanks for the info!

Take your time and look around. It's a lot of stuff here but you need at least a month to figure out.

Good to know, thanks a bunch!!

The number you mentioned is your reputation score. You'll see it climb as you participate in the site, as long as you're not plagiarizing, scamming, or being abusive to others. Flags by whales can send your reputation down to a negative number. If you don't know about whales yet, don't worry, you will soon enough! Good luck to you.

Uh oh, now i'm worried! haha. What kind of things get you flagged? Just what you stated? (plagiarizing, scamming and abuse?)

You get flagged if you don't fall in line with the status quo. So always think positive, don't think negative. Never disgree with anyone. Don't be ironic or sarcastic. This may not be enough because if you downvote somebody, they'll revenge downvote you. You might also be randomily downvoted.
Unfortunately for me I don't fall in line, that's why I have a low reputation. I would also like to add:

Oops, sorry I made you worry. Those are the things I downvote (not that my flags have any power yet). Things are changing fast, so who knows re other reasons, such as balancing payouts by flagging blogs that are disproportionately successful. Some people downvote vindictively, but they're usually taken care of quickly. The whole issue of flagging is being debated.

There's a bot that catches some of the plagiarism, but it's good to check it yourself before you vote on articles that might have been stolen.

It does require a lot of upfront work not just to post and comment but to understand the site and to promote yourself. If that time is coming from other social media or other leisure time, then you haven't lost anything. If it's time you would have put into other ways of earning or into spending time with your kids, then you'll want to reevaluate regularly. However, don't expect returns really soon unless you get lucky or work really, really hard.

It is sort of like a lottery if you don't come with a name and a following already. The more of the applicable skills you have, the easier it will be. I agree that you need an introduceyourself blog.

you can earn some, put you probably need to put a little more effort in, and you also need some luck.

you should start with a proper post tagged #introduceyourself where you tell the community more about yourself (probably link to other social media accounts and mention steemit there) to prove you're not a bot, sockpuppet or astroturfer.

then, there are many known and valid criticisms of steemit, not everything that glitters is gold here.

but it has some basic ideas that are valid: active users become implicitly stakeholders of the platform, and the whole platform might one day become as valuable as reddit, which is what attracts investors.

this speculative aspect is where your prospective rewards ultimately come from.

That's what we are hoping for! It seems like many likeminded people are on here; to collectively find an alternative source to money, a different way of thinking and living for the future of ourselves and our children. Both hubby and I will be doing this so hopefully we can get the hang of it! Thanks for your response!

Just curious... why do you feel like it's a scam? In a scam, someone usually tricks you into giving them your money. In this case, you just got $7 for free for signing up and you don't have to invest a penny.

Very true! I guess investing too much of my time away from my kids doing this...like if I earned "money" then it doesn't go anywhere or I lose the "money" that I wasted my time. Like most things, "if it's too good to be true then it probably is", just keeping an eye open! Thanks for your feedback

Time investment is definitely something to think about :) I recommend getting to know the community in your free time. This place is a gold mine for new knowledge and interesting stories. Then it will feel more like chatting with friends and sharing your thoughts.

Welcome to Steemit. I was like you when I joined. Thinking of the money, rewards and all the good stuff Steemit promises. This post has inspired me to write an open letter to new members.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@cjclaro/an-open-letter-to-new-members-on-steemit-about-what-steemit-really-is

I hope you read it to get a grasp of what Steemit is. Steem On! You can succeed here.

Thank you! I will definitely bookmark this and watch with my husband after the kids go to sleep!

Thank you everyone for your feedback! It's important to get information that is useful from ones that have come before me, so it is very much appreciated!

It's legit. I've been here a month. Yesterday I sent my first deposit to the bank, and am expecting Canadian dollars in my account tomorrow or day after. Then it will really feel real!
You may not make money for a while, but keep trying and improving your posts. You should slowly get more followers with every post you make, and maybe based on your comments. (That's how I found you.)
You will need to research your #tags real well, so that people even see your posts. You should add pictures and format your text.
Try this editor:
https://steemit.com/steem/@bitcoiner/steemit-easyedit-let-s-make-the-editor-great-again
Never just copy from another website and post here, or just post a link with hardly any of your own commentary.
You need to add original content.
I see that we have similar interests, so I look forward to reading your posts.

Thank you for the feedback! I'm glad to have found (or have been found) another likeminded person so quickly! I also look forward to following you :)

Work on making your articles, add photos and format.

For best results: Follow, Resteem, Upvote and Comment!
Tijo~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 62784.34
ETH 3337.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47