You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How a minnow can become a dolphin for a week by leasing steem power - How to lease steem power

in #leasing6 years ago

Owk this is quite a great piece and I love the fact that you took the time out to tutor us on how to lease steem power . For sometime now a friend of mine has been leasing steem power and I been wondering what manner of dumb idea that was. Why would I want to lease steem power for just a week and to what end?

I will look at some of the points you raised one after the other in a bid to give my opinion on some and ask for better understanding on some.

A dolphin typically has more than 5000 steem power, and each 100% vote is worth more than $1.

I want to believe that a dolphins comes right before a whale. If a dolphins has just above 5000 so, then what does it take to be a whale coz I was shocked to check up on @surpassinggoogle one day and found out he was still a dolphin. His 100% voting power is over a hundred sbd yet he is still called a dolphin. I was really perplexed and it has aided my confusion on who a whale really is.

On steemit you are already important if you have 500 Steem power.

Hehehe even as low as 300sp you become important. People start diaturbing you for upvotes and it can just be so tiring. Last week @tarazkp held a contest and the price was delegation of steem power to some persons who he deemed performed well and I was among the few. He delegated 250sp to me which would Las for 4 week and since then it's been hell (Lolzz) . People who would never chat with you for any reason starts dropingboff their post links for you to upvote. Well what can I do? Its a small world and so I still help who ever I can with the little I have. But the bottom line is that one becomes important even with as low as 300sp...steem power is really powerful on steemit...lolzz

The cost of loasing 5000 steem power for a week is less than 90 steem

Now this might be a bit of a problem for minnows like me. Getting steem now is extremely difficult unless you chose to invest by buying steem yourself . Those who don't have the cash to pay for steem might find it difficult generating as much as 90 steem in just a period as short as 1 week for renual or even for the very first lease. I made 90 steem in 3 months...u can imagine

What’s the advantage of leasing steem power?

Before now I had always thought if the immediate return accompanied with leasing steem power and that has discouraged me from doing so. When I run my calculations , I see that i may run a loss doing so and so I recline . But you have been able tovm give me a new insight on the advantages of leasing. I never thought of it this way. Never thought of the advertising advantage therein.

Then about commenting. It's always interesting when you get to comment on people's posts who take the time out to respond and make the conversation Lively. I love commenting on your posts coz I found out that you take the time to always read through every comment and engage the commenter in a conversation which is very good. So many dolphins don't and it just makes commenting on their blog rather boring.

Renewing is often more convenient than re-listing your lease request and waiting for it to get filled.

When you say renewing is easier or more convenient, how do you mean? Does it mean your orders get filled faster when you renew than when you place a new order?

Sort:  

@sistem. Thanks for reading. I hope you will find that leasing has long term benefits for you.

I’m also not sure when a dolphin turns into a whale. Maybe it’s at 100k steempower, maybe even more.

It is true that many people don’t have 90 steem to lease 5000. For 9 steem they could try leasing 500. As you said, people started chasing you even for 300!

If you lease and only vote your own blogs and comments, you might make a small profit, or a small loss. The price is at the level where it’s not quite worth the trouble for the money making motive. The biggest variable is the amount of curation rewards.

On the other hand, by giving away your votes to others may make a profit because some will vote you or your comments. It all depends on whether you catch some bigger votes. The real value is in the advertisement effect. Once people follow you, their future votes are probably worth much more than you paid for the lease.

It is always good to discuss. Some whale bloggers don’t fully engage. I don’t think there would be much point in voting for that kind of blogger except to get a share of the curation rewards. On the other hand, many of their followers are commenting in the hope of getting a vote, so maybe it those people I would look at.

Renewing means your lease just carries in the same as before. You have to pay another fee. But you don’t lose the steem power. It saves the trouble of getting listed again and waiting for a taker.

Thanks for the further clarifications @swisscliff. It brightens this topic even more.

Pls where do one check for a steemian Dolphin/whale status?

Very vital points you raise there. Thanks for the elaborate question/experience.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64513.75
ETH 3146.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95