Blockchain based LBRY will be the storage solution for the @survival-archive account

in #lbry5 years ago (edited)

Screen Shot 20191001 at 10.27.37.png

Not interested in supporting the likes of Dropbox or Onedrive any more I knew there must be a better way.

@dmwh kindly put me on to LBRY which is so evidently the solution and in many ways quite similar to what we have here. People upload content and earn tokens if others wish to reward it.

You can even earn tokens by simply watching one video each day.
Screen Shot 20190930 at 18.26.24.png

It has been created as a desktop app which sadly my mac is not quite capable of playing, due to it's slightly out-of-date OS. They do however have an online version currently still in beta, which I have joined and am learning.

Screen Shot 20191001 at 21.52.12.png

Now we can all share & earn TOGETHER

Those of you who would like to share your own life-saving PDF books, you now have the chance to do this through LBYR and the @survival-archive account, giving you rewards from both.

So, get it downloaded and start playing.

Screen Shot 20191001 at 13.06.47.png

I am in communication with LBRY and they tell me in around two weeks I will be able to use the online version to upload my PDF books & films (without needing the desktop app)

Others will then be able to download these files, using the provided links posted or resteemed through the @survival-archive account.

Ultimately, all providers of life-saving, life-changing books & films will work together as one through the @survival-archive account each of us providing our personal download link to our book or film. All of us hosted by LBRY.

Perfect.

So, it will begin in two weeks. Just as I finish my six month contract filming the construction of this monster solar farm.

flooding09:28.jpg

The importance of a personal solar device

Once you have these books and films stored on your phones or tablets you know you will ALWAYS have access to this information if you are able to charge your device with solar.

I understand there appears no apparent urgency to buy a solar device as the electricity is flowing from the hole in the wall, just as it always has been.

Screen Shot 20190921 at 15.49.07.png

All I know is that the world is changing fast and there are uncertain times ahead. It would be unwise to assume things will stay the same forever. Change is inevitable and sometimes it comes with ferocity.

Indeed, it does seems unlikely the electricity will stop flowing from the hole in the wall any time soon, but in the event of a sudden need to move from your home, for whatever reason, to retain all this valuable life-saving information, all you need is your device and your solar charger. A lot more portable than boxes of physical books.

Screen Shot 20190925 at 07.21.08.png

I am looking to buy a bunch of the above kits if enough people here show interest. I will be able to sell them for $45 (plus postage & packaging) in STEEM or any other crypto.

Why am I doing this?

I have a deep desire to share with as many of you as possible the great collection of potentially life-saving books and films I have been gifted over the years and the @survival-archive account was born as a way to achieve this.

Screen Shot 20190920 at 07.46.46.png

I does not matter to me if you are a rich banker or a Buddhist monk, you all deserve access to this information which could, if we let it, change the world forever as we collectively remember that which we have forgotten.

How to live in harmony with this beautiful playground upon which we softly tread.

picccc.jpg

Who is @samstonehill?

He was a London based filmmaker until he sold everything and set out on a barefoot journey around the world, currently based in the south of France.

He is travelling with his partner & two children and with no bank account he has been living on STEEM & crypto for over two years.

old banner.jpg

Sam supports @naturalmedicine because they are seeking to help us in ways which go far beyond money. Please come and join us on Discord

ec08b62bddb542269ece7cda7e763d784ea87db8.gif

All content created for this account is 100% original (unless otherwise stated), produced by @samstonehill who invites you to use & share freely as you wish.

imageedit_1_5527523249.png

All non original photo sources can be found by clicking on the image

Sort:  

Great! Let me know once you've set up your channel and I'll test it out.

Regarding the solar kit, I'm interested but have a couple questions:

  • How many watts is the solar panel?
  • What is the recharge time of the battery module on a sunny day?
  • Can either the battery module or the actual cells within the module be replaced without replacing the entire kit?

Thank you for your efforts to help others.

https://beta.lbry.tv/@samstonehill:b07b488d23e7af20757a1aec84f8087d9dbf0b94

The channel is set up now but I have another "week or two" before they complete the upload feature, so no content yet. All I can do for now is encourage others to get their own accounts and start uploading what they have. I love the way they have made it easy to connect up existing YouTube accounts (desktop app only) but I wonder if there is a way for other users to then download these films through a provided url link?

All will be discovered...

As for the solar, many things:

The man who created Sundaya did not permit us to think in watts. He spoke only of Joules and labelled his products in this way. He goes into it a little in this film, but to answer your question, 50.

Recharge time on a sunny day. From experience I can tell you one sunny day is more than enough to fill battery to capacity.

The battery modules are designed to be replaced when they need to be. The cells within the module probably not, but as a replacement part they are around £12 if you are buying just one, seen here in IDR.

Screen Shot 2019-10-02 at 05.35.09.png

His products are great because you can keep on adding to what you have, replacing only the bits which need replacing. There is an animation at 3.29 which will help you see the how it all connects up. And a skinny looking me at 3.12!

Damn it's cold here at 5am!

I need to keep moving.

All of the content that I've seen in the desktop version has a unique link that can be shared. When I paste that link into my browser it gives me the option to open it in the desktop version or web. One thing to definitely look into will be whether you can update the content without changing the underlying link. From the FAQ it looks like this will be possible but no way to know for sure until testing it (https://lbry.com/faq/how-to-publish):

How do I edit my existing Published content?

Click on the Publishes tab from the rightside of the app.

Select the content you want to update.

Click Edit.

You can now edit your claim information. No need to re-select the file if it's the same one or has the same url.

When you are done, click Edit.

I will buy 4 of the solar kits from you so that I can leave one with each of my family members, just in case.

I'm curious if Sundaya will accept STEEM from you as payment or if you will first have to convert it and end up being charged more fees to pay them in foreign currency? Any opportunity to use crypto instead of fiat is a good one, in my opinion.

Amazing you would like 4 kits. Good idea leaving one with each family member. Was chatting with my mother this morning (I'm now on holiday) who is wondering if she should do the same thing and buy a bunch of them.

Despite my best efforts, Sundaya don't accept crypto directly, so I would have to buy them with IDR and re-sell for STEEM.

I may be off the radar for the next few days.

My family have arrived from France ;)

GOPR1469.JPG

That's not too bad if you can convert from STEEM to IDR without having to go through GBP. Seems like it's still the case that businesses are hesitant to use crypto since it increases complexity for their accountants.

Enjoy your family time!

Thanks for this interesting post!
Followed your referral link and installed LBRY desktop on linux: it seems to work really well!

Here is my lbry wallet:

image.png

bMKTFKPz9LxTUo1VGUx11A11EfvQhS6ip8

I found how to use the same wallet on mulitple PCs / installations: insteresting, isn't it?


Everything is okay! 👌


Dear @samstonehill,
you received an automatic upvote, because I believe in you and I love what you create! 😉

A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

#sbi-skip !trdo & !giphy okay


If you dislike this automatic message, please let me know: thanks! 🙏



// Supported by witness untersatz! //

Congratulations @amico, you are successfuly trended the post that shared by @samstonehill!
@samstonehill got 0.21175200 TRDO & @amico got 0.14116800 TRDO!

"Call TRDO, Your Comment Worth Something!"

To view or trade TRDO go to steem-engine.com
Join TRDO Discord Channel or Join TRDO Web Site



// Supported by witness untersatz! //

Excellent! If only my computer were a bit more up to date I would be using it in a flash. The online version still feels very beta.

So, do you have any life-saving PDF books or films you feel like uploading there so we can get this show on the road?

Congratulations @samstonehill! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @torico.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Cool! Thank you :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62227.11
ETH 2400.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50