LBRY beta First-Look REVIEW!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #lbry7 years ago

LBRY beta First-Look REVIEW!

BONUS: See how the first cat video is posted on LBRY!

Thirsty cat gets wet head

Meow!

You must be interested in LBRY (or cat videos) so let's get started...

Background

Like many of you, I've been interested in blockchain and crypto and want lots of information. I came across LBRY thanks to an interview last year on the crypto show - a weekly radio/podcast show; Chris and Danny really enjoy doing that show and I enjoyed meeting them last year.

I signed up for the beta on the LBRY website and waited; and waited some more for an invite. Then I got impatient and downloaded the client from Github. After telling my antivirus to shut up when installing, I was waiting a really, really long time while the blockchain was downloaded (not as long as the initial Sia download however).

I looked it over and thought it was neat but it was still a work in progress.

Last month I finally got my beta access code with the beta launch. After an initial issue with the invite code and a very responsive email reply from the developers, I came back to it successfully this week.

What is LBRY?

Imagine something like Youtube, but without a company making big advertising money off user created content and only paying a tiny fraction to the original creators - BUT instead the users who create the content can get rewarded directly for views or even show it for free.

LBRY has a brief video under 100 seconds describing this idea.

What does LBRY look like?

Enough chit-chat.
_

First log-in to beta: a Welcome message.

Beta landing page LBRY app

_

The bottom of the home screen (the "10" [previously I could bid for these positions, but couldn't presently] and widely-commented "UCBerkley videos" removed from Youtube)

Home page LBRY app
_

Click on a video to stream (I had 1 success and several failures to stream.)

LBRY Stream videos

_

Posting (Publishing) your video/text/content on LBRY (Top half of "Publish" page.)

Publishing on LBRY app step 1

_

Posting (Publishing) your video/text/content on LBRY (Bottom half of "Publish" page.)

Publishing on LBRY app step 2

_

Successful Posting (Publishing) to lbry://catvideo on LBRY!

Published on LBRY app

_

Published items page.

Published items page

_

It's on the blockchain explorer.

LBRY explorer

_

Lets use the search bar to find it. There it is!

Search catvideo

_

Lets watch it! It played for me, does it play for you?

Search catvideo

_

What are your thoughts?

Not of the cat video!

What do you think of LBRY?

I am interested in hearing from other beta users and their experiences using it. I believe the idea is very promising and would not be possible without blockchain technology. It seems to be finally getting close and although it has some issues, I believe these will be worked out eventually - I don't see any other coin in the field doing anything similar.

-hohhle-

note: all pictures are hosted using the spee.ch website.

Sort:  

Good article buddy!

Thanks, it took longer than anticipated to put together, but it was fun.

Great review, I just did one myself here on Steemit and have now been using LBRY almost once a day since. It is a neat little application that has a pretty bright future. If I had extra cash I would honestly invest a little in the coin. I put a bunch of random stuff on lbry://@cryptocollectibles as I figure out what I personally would use it for, as in the end it might just be as viewer more so that a contributer, which is cool either way.

check out
lbry://@movie#7381dcaa482bdc199934779c7aa39922f0342582
for great content

Congratulations @hohhle! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63781.73
ETH 3407.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47