My First Attempt ~ Day 109: 5 Minute Freewrite ~ Monday - Prompt: Yard Sale ~ Original Everything, Except The Photo ~

in #lastminutefreewritephun6 years ago (edited)


P1550593 128kb.jpg

Prompt: Yard (Garage) Sale


I walked up the driveway past the closet doors propped up on saw-horses, covered with old sheets and blue tarps and other odd blankets. Stuff filled every table all the way up the drive.
I wandered my way into the garage, looking at all the wonderful treasures for sale.

“How much for the lawnmower?”
“It’s not for sale.”
“Why Not?"
“It's behind the rope. The only stuff I'm selling is in front of the roped off area.” The woman was not going to be easy to persuade.
“How much would you take for it anyway?"
“It's NOT FOR SALE! I use it, to mow the lawn. Just the stuff inside the roped off area."

I wandered further into the garage, looking at a nice wicker laundry basket with only one good handle. The woman had moved further toward the inside door of the garage, that led to the kitchen of the house. “How about this drill press, how much for it?”
“Would you please stop wandering behind the rope, ma'am. Only this stuff out here is for sale."
“You sure?”
“YES, I'm sure!”

On out through the door I went, and…

DANG, five minutes is not very long!!

~ Finto ~


Here is the link to the post about the Five Minute Freewrite, put on by @mariannewest:
[Five Freewrite No. 109]


Poste Script - Sorry this is a bit late. But Steemit was broken tonight. And I'm not smart enough to find a way around the broken parts, to be able to still use it. Though I know there is a way to do these things. It works now. Thankyou verymuch.


Thanks for stopping in and viewing my first attempt at the Five Minute Free Write. If you have any thoughts about garage sales, writing time-limited essays, how short five minutes actually IS, or anything else this post reminds you of, please feel free to comment away in the spaces below. I'd love to hear from you.





Please UPVOTE, COMMENT and FOLLOW if you enjoy my works.

And go to @ddschteinn -- There's a whole lot more...

Posted: 02/05/2018 @ 23: 46



P1050887-1 48kb no name.jpg


Excerpts From Late-Night Conversations With A Mechanical Cat

Fact Number 30

DONE 5 minute freewrite garage sales MOLLY the cat.PNG

Sort:  

That was short! Are you OK?

Here's a news flash for you. Maybe with your experience in these matters we can put a stop to this before it spreads even more.

Just a bit stuffed up, maybe that is why. No worries though, I'll be back to "Normal" all too soon.
Love the tree find. Cracked me up. Be on the lookout for a continuation somewhere soon.

Five minutes does go by pretty fast! lol I can see you wondering behind the ropes too. Where you looking for shoeberries or old Christmas trees? :P

Got a good chuckle out of that. And it is true, I couldn't' believe HOW fast it went. I had SO much more to say ( :
I should be so lucky to find shoeberries or old trees, at a good price, no less. But alas, they were not to be found. SO...I better get busy and get out and look some more. Posts posts posts, those important posts...

Interesting article, thanks for sharing

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for stopping in as well. Have a nice day.

Well wrote @ddschteinn.

Thank you , it was fun to do. Though very short time-wise. Glad you enjoyed it. Thanks for stopping in to my blog. Have a nice night.

Excellent first attempt!! and look at you!! always going behind the rope lol

Thanks, this is a lot of fun. I'll be joining some more of these little word-romps. This actually happened at a sale, woman wanted to buy all the stuff not for sale. Rather classic. And a bit annoying. There was more to it, but the timer, it told me to stop. I'm SUCH a rule follower ( :

Lol, no, five minutes isn't very long. Welcome to the free write family :) Loved reading your piece. Had me smiling. Which is good on a Weds morning.

Nice story! Um! I think it's you that are wandering behind the rope! Yes, five minutes is not very long, I would love to read more, please...... ;))

Five minutes is never enough, but if it were, where would the challenge be in that? Welcome to the #Freewrite.
Nick

Thanks, it is a lot of fun. And a challenge. And good way to limber up, mentally and physically. On to more in the future.

I know what you mean... I've gone to garage sales in the past and saw things that are more interesting than what is out on the table. Doesn't hurt to ask, I suppose. But it does not sound like it's always welcome! Nice job.

Thanks, glad you enjoyed it. That is actually a smaller piece of a larger incident at a sale. A VERY annoying person trying to buy half the garage. But it didn't quite come out in that direction...with 5 minutes to finish it all up. Sigh, but these are a great exercise in creativity. Hope to do more sdsoon. Heading over to check out your site. Have a nice night.

That five minutes does it's own magic! Hugs.

Brillant. It is hard, for we wordy types, to stop writing after 5 minutes. It takes me that long to ruminate, sip my tea, and then chuckle to myself about the hilarious quip I just told the cat.

Still I would have asked how much for the rope.

Thanks so much, and Oh dear, I see myself in that entire comment. Even the rope ( :
So glad you can make me chortle on a more than occasional basis.
BTW... having lived in England, have you seen the 'Tracey Ullman Breaks The News' program? Just recently discovered it. And talk about funny. Just thought I should ask. Seems like something you would greatly appreciate.

I love Tracey. She is amazing at doing and becoming characters. I even loved her back when she had her original US show that introduced the world to the Simpsons when they were just a short filler cartoon! Heavens, I'm ancient.

I'm glad I can make you giggle, I do see far too much of myself when I read your posts. Thank goodness you are writing them, I am far too lazy to edit and therefore my shorter posts are still a minefield of ill used grammar and run on sentences. But, then I can read yours and think, 'it's like I'm reading a transcript of my mental process' with a smug little grin as if I have just completed that act of writing, editing, and posting it.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 64998.89
ETH 3514.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37