Sort:  

MacOS is unbeatable, and it is unix. I still have my first macbook from 8 years ago, as a unix server now. I had another for 4 years which I sold. And the last one I got was a used macbook air 2013 model with 8gb ram for $600. They last in my experience but hardware quality IS debatable.

windows 10 has "subsystem for linux" so you get a virtual linux environment with bash, so maybe my argument isn't as strong now. Still I don't think windows would match the user experience for me anyways.

That's what I was gonna say. Get a used macbook pro on amazon for less than 450 euro https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/B002COJD1O/ref=dp_olp_used?ie=UTF8&condition=used

I'm not really a fan of macbooks. A trend with cheap laptops is to solder everything in place with the result being if something breaks you just toss the whole thing. Macbooks, despite being very high end (at least in price) have started to do the same thing. You can get the same hardware minus the fancy aluminum unibody for much cheaper in a PC. Don't like Windows? Install Linux. In the past I have liked Dells (mainly because they were so easy to repair and parts so readily available) but don't have a recent one. For the average person, processor speed probably isn't as important as RAM and having an SSD.

If he is into games a mac is no bueno

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35