Help? Which laptop to buysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #laptop8 years ago

So Im out shopping with my mom for my new laptop and have found sever al models I like. Does anybody have an opinión on Lenovo? We have also found out that if we wait until tomorrow we get a full tax rebate around 120 euros back in a gift voy her.  Here is a couple pics I took, other considerations are toshiba or Dell.  Im spending around 600€ so any típs you can give me would be great. I dont want to wait anymore time for this so tomorrow im buying yes or yes.

 

Here another 

Thanks for your time and support

@aidancloquell


Sort:  

I like lenovo.
It's usually good value for money and my lenovo netbook lasted me quite some time.

Personally, I think 600 euros is quite expensive for a laptop.
You could easily find one in the 300 euro range and save up the rest.

It depends on what you want to do with it ...

You're not going to love me for this, but get a used macbook instead for higher quality hardware, software and user experience 🐒

MacOS is unbeatable, and it is unix. I still have my first macbook from 8 years ago, as a unix server now. I had another for 4 years which I sold. And the last one I got was a used macbook air 2013 model with 8gb ram for $600. They last in my experience but hardware quality IS debatable.

windows 10 has "subsystem for linux" so you get a virtual linux environment with bash, so maybe my argument isn't as strong now. Still I don't think windows would match the user experience for me anyways.

That's what I was gonna say. Get a used macbook pro on amazon for less than 450 euro https://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/offer-listing/B002COJD1O/ref=dp_olp_used?ie=UTF8&condition=used

I'm not really a fan of macbooks. A trend with cheap laptops is to solder everything in place with the result being if something breaks you just toss the whole thing. Macbooks, despite being very high end (at least in price) have started to do the same thing. You can get the same hardware minus the fancy aluminum unibody for much cheaper in a PC. Don't like Windows? Install Linux. In the past I have liked Dells (mainly because they were so easy to repair and parts so readily available) but don't have a recent one. For the average person, processor speed probably isn't as important as RAM and having an SSD.

If he is into games a mac is no bueno

Did you buy it yet? If not wait and give more details about the specs of the laptops. There are huge differences in the quality of certain laptops that have the same price. Lenovo company was caught adding crapware that tracked users to their computers a while ago and they have lost my business forever. Lenovos are usually cheap because they are not made well.

Look at the specs of this acer laptop, if the ones you have picked out are not as good as this one do not buy them.

6th Generation Intel Core i5-6200U Processor (Up to 2.8GHz)
15.6-inch Full HD Display, NVIDIA GeForce 940MX with 2GB DDR5 VRAM
8GB DDR4 Memory, 256GB SSD

https://www.amazon.com/Acer-Aspire-E5-575G-53VG-Laptop-Windows/dp/B01DT4A2R4/ref=pd_cp_147_3?_encoding=UTF8&refRID=7G475E156V0EN69TSNFK&th=1

If you plan to play games make sure the graphics card is good. Get a 940m or better. A dedicated card is what you want. Don't let the salesmen trick you into buying something bad.

Not yet, but in a couple hours. I really appreciate all the comments its a huge help

Dell is good in my experience and with 600 Euros you should get something fast with enough Ram which should be furure secure ;-)

I guess the biggest thing to take into consideration would be how she would be using the laptop. If it will mostly be plugged in all the time I would aim for something with a powerful cpu. If you are looking for good battery life I would look for something with a less powerful cpu but more ram. Also one thing is if she has been using computers a lot in the past. My father is not too savvy with computers. He gets on to use email, youtube some projects, and basic looking up of some information. So when I helped set up a pc for him I put linux on it. Mostly because it had older hardware inside. Now he cannot stand windows. He had a new laptop with good specs and he found it much slower than the pentium 4 desktop with 512 with linux on it.

I was looking for one last month but didn't buy. Personally, I wanted something with SSD. It should be faster. No experience with Lenovo but that was the one I almost bought. Things to look out for for me are connections. Do you need HDMI? I want it. Instead of getting a new device, I bought a cheap Philips monitor. No regrets. How many USB ports are there? One is a bit too little but more means it's bigger.

FYI, 5 tags issue is fixed.

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Jan 12. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $5.19 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Jan 12 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67578.10
ETH 3250.74
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64