i LOVE Life #1 [ So you say aren’t a coder, but you are. ] Food for thought.

in #language8 years ago


So you say aren’t a coder, but you are.

You are doing it right now. Every day you decipher information on a level beyond any computer. Each word you read in this post triggers a set of some of the universe’s most complex functions. A dance of chemically induced electrical responses organized into thoughts.


Do thoughts travel?

The brain uses biomechanical transmissions such as voice or body language to project thoughts into the material world. Collectively all of our brains have devised a way to increase the propagation of these thoughts via television and the internet. Now one of our most powerful methods of biomechanical transmission is nothing more than fingers clacking away on a keyboard.

Now think about what is happening every time you hear a word.

I found myself lost in the music of a song and a lyric entered my mind. “Lost in Trees.” Instantaneously hundreds of different trees entered my mind as I have no idea what type of trees the artist referring to. Being “lost in the trees” I imagine there must be many trees, so mostly likely they were referring to a forest. Since I was listening to an American song the forest was most likely in North America.

But thoughts aren’t like transferring information from one container into another.


The transmission of thoughts is more like sowing seeds in a garden. You can plant the seed in someone’s mind in an attempt to make it grow into a thought resembling your own. The better we nurture them the more they share similarities, but ultimately every garden grows a little different. So my forest lies in under the great Sequoia in California, while yours may be near the Appalachian trail.

During the song there was an immense amount of audio data, sound waves, being received. If you ever listened to a song you enjoyed but don’t remember a single word it is because you just took all that information as one signal. It requires additional processes to separate them into music and lyrics. Isn’t it incredible how well you can break down the frequencies?


What is a word to you now?

In the end, every word you say is a complex code that has taken millions if not billions of years to develop. From stardust to life. Passed down through the generations. Words are the code we use. They are powerful. If you ever made a dollar on Steemit that should be proof enough.

Image Sources: 1, 2

Sort:  

@tralawar Yeah fine, it's beautiful and I agree.
But it doesn't make you a coder. it makes you a modem :D

The part left unsaid is, each word you think and or put out there is a piece of code. The post is figurative at best and left up to interpretation. May I add your comment reinforces my point that thoughts aren't bits of information that are simply transferred from one container into another, but rather pathways to ideas that may meet with different preceptions of reality.

@tralawar You're an informationalist like me. Congrats I thought I was the only one.

If this is what you were referring to, then yeah I can get behind that. Steemit adding to my lexicon one post at a time.

@williambanks
Wow ! Hey Bro !, well met ... i have described myself as an informationalist for many years, although I am reluctant to use the term for lack of understand by most ... /shakes hand, Very well said ! (actually thats why i'm on steemit, to learn ...)

Whoa!!! I didn't know that. Thanks for sharing the info @tralawar. By the way nicely written and beautiful photos.

I didn't realize I was that complex. But I guess when you think about it....Good piece. What was the song?

No idea, it was in the background of a long mix as I was taking a brief break from being a parent. I was some deep tropical house mix from my SoundCloud feed. If your into it I am sure its in my history.

Awesome, thanks @dragonslayer109. It has been awhile since I have been able to write.

This is fantastic! Most people don't tend to think of thoughts and language in terms of syntax, but that's exactly what it is, especially in the case of language. Every time you speak you're using a programming code to express an idea or perform a function via the receiver of that message. We just tend not to realize that inspiring thoughts or provoking conversation are, in fact, functions. Language is how we build and execute programs in other human machines.

Thanks, I like bringing awareness to the places in our lives where we use automatic processing. Another topic I like to think about is Ready-to-Hand in Heideggerian terminology. It's about the way we move through the world in our everyday tasks and how we are forced yo pay attention or become present-at-hand once something goes wrong.

Really nice work !! +1 and followed ! I like your definition of Input/Output, and the inferences to Synaptic processes and neural pathway creation.
Enjoyed it, thank you !

Awesome, I am glad you liked it. There will be more to come.

Upvoted, Followed and Shared to FB, Twitter, and Google.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about linkback bot v0.3

Upvote if you want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts. Flag if otherwise. Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66408.70
ETH 3225.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.17