Calling all bilingual people!steemCreated with Sketch.

in #language7 years ago (edited)

I need your help with a debate my girlfriend and I are having. If you speak multiple languages which one do you think in?

Sort:  

I have a Dutch father and a Colombian mother. I spoke Dutch with my dad and Spanish with my mom. Truly bilingual.

It really depends on which language I think. Depends on where I'm at and in which language I was talking at that moment.

The question is , do you really need a language to think in, or you can just put things in the right place in your mind by associations and emotions?....and only then if you'd like to express that notion you may start trying to put that image in words.

so which language do you put the image into. The first language you learned or the one you speak most often (if it's not your original language)

I think it is the mother tounge most of the time for everyone.. but it really depends.. If I'm trying to put somthing profound into words for instance, I start with my mother tounge and often turn english mid-sentence because there are things that are less complex to formulate in english but are still sufficiently meaningful, somtimes even sounds better.

The one I'm speaking at the time :):)
My kids only spoke Afrikaans to me & only English to their Dad, learnt both languages from babies. Really was an advantage as they were excellent in languages, went to an Afrikaans school but later on an English college, very bright young men :):) Guests always were bemused at our conversations at the dinner table, but it worked for us! :-)

smile Language of Hearts

I think in my first language, English. Afrikaans came later when I went to school

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86