Languages that surrounds us 📖👄👂✌️

in #language7 years ago (edited)

Sveicināti mani draugi! [Hello my friends!]

Let me introduce you to my native language.
Latvia - country that i call homeland or as in Latvian "dzimtene"

It is a small but recognizable country in Baltics states, Eastern-Europe. Between Lithuania and Estonia, next to Baltic sea and notorious big bear.

Latvian is the native language of about 1.7 million people, mostly in Latvia, where it is the only state language.
The largest Latvian-speaking community outside Latvia is Ireland, Australia, the United States, Sweden, Great Britain, Germany, Brazil, Russia. The Latvian language belongs to the Balo-speaking group of Indo-European languages. The oldest examples in Latvian - translations of church songs are from 1530. As you can see in the picture below Latvian and Lithuanian languages belong to one independent tree branch.

If you want to learn some Latvian phrases or word - here I found great tool just for that

LEARN LATVIAN


This image where depicted "Tree of languages", seemed to me fascinating. It reminded me of my project I did in childhood.
While ago when I were in high school - we were asked to create a personal family tree.
That was a fun but challenging task to gather such information. Of course, first people to which I turned was my parents and then grandparents. They could tell me just about nearest relatives - as far as grand-grand-grand - parents. The stories about all of the relatives to me were so interesting so I wanted to know more about my roots.
Sadly it was not possible because the only place where to find such information about ancestors would be church`s old archives. Old church in the parish was long gone with all valuable archives. Thanks a lot, WW2 - another chapter in lost history.

What`s happened, happened. Let us get back to languages now.

After my recollection of childhood, I look deeper in this topic about languages.

And I come across some interesting facts about languages of earthlings.
There will be some of them:

📘In the whole world, there are 7,099 languages that are spoken today.

📘Roughly a third of languages are now endangered, often with less than 1,000 speakers remaining.

📘Meanwhile, just 23 languages account for more than half the world’s population.

📘Nearly 2/3 of languages are from Africa and Asia.

📘86% of people use Asian or European languages

~facts source~
~infograph source~
(possible to zoom in photo trough link)

How many languages can one person speak?
Me? I speak in Latvian (native), English (fluent), Russian (что-то понимаю)

How many languages can YOU speak?

Do we have any polyglot in Steem community?

Wich language you are planing to learn next?**

Sort:  

cool article, lil bro! just need to correct some mistakes.. hihihihi

anyhow.. you already know what i know.. latvian, english, russian, and now onmy way to italian.. :)

Thanks,
and sorry that i`m not English teacher like you are. :D

Amazing post. Upvoted and following u as always.

Thank you. :)
Pleasure that you like my content

Can you tell me something about your language?

I know Azerbaijani(my mother tongue), Russian(my second mother tongue :)),Turkish it is very close to Azerbaijani and English....And I want to learn Spanish, Portuguese and Italian...just love this language family. But unfortunately don't have time :(

Azerbaijani alphabet to me looks very hard.
Do you really write from back-to-front?

If we are speaking about learning - this is very cool tool for that - https://www.duolingo.com/
As their slogan says - Learn a language for free. Forever. :)

No :D I think you talking about Arabic alphabet :) No, we write and read from left to right. Yeah, I know duolingo, even had their app...probably should go back to that app :) thanks for reminding me ^_^

Yeah, you right I meant Arabic.
You are welcome. :)

Congratulations @difuel! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

thanks for your sharing post.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67388.31
ETH 3311.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74