The Africa you won't see on TV - Post #7; Unlimited beaches - Beach #2

This is a very important place to me, and it always gives me so much joy talking and writing about it. You’ve probably seen parts of Kenya where people starve, sometimes to death. Whereas most of the times it is blown out of proportion, there is some truth to it.

Writing about Turkana’s beautiful side does not mean I am ignorant of her realities. Far from that, highlighting her strengths will help deal with the problem of poverty. Of course that’s a different issue all together since no matter what the case is, no one should be starving to death in this time and era.

I will do a comprehensive post on what this place did to me; it remains the most sobering trip I have ever done.

Her beaches!

There’s so much to Turkana that the place deserves its own series. For now though, the Africa you won’t see on TV one will suffice. BTW never has this series meant so much than now.

So here we go:

Lake Turkana is the largest permanent desert lake in the world. How huge is that! Of course I’m trying to be punny 😂😂

There are lots of fish there, and another section has crocodiles. Possible activities there could include swimming, boat riding, and camping on the beach.

Let’s talk about the beach. Not many lakes have beaches, but here we go >>

The best sunrise I've ever seen, so we played!

We camped there and it is legit one of the most amazing experiences I ever had. Guys who understand stars had a field day since they were very elaborate, unlike what we have in the cities. The breeze is just enough to revolutionize your life.

These are images from only one beach in the area. In my next post, we will visit the islands. Prepare to be awed 😉

Pointers:

You could fly there or take the road. Most of the roads are in good condition.
It's very hot
The place is safe.
They treasure visitors
Phone reception is limited; take advantage of this if you know what I mean.

At the beginning I said that this region is very important to me. The logic is: if tourism improves there (they currently receive VERY few guests), the locals will get meaningful employment, trade will flourish, the economy will grow, and people will not lack food. See?

Here's a fishing net for no reason 😎

If and when you visit Kenya, don’t miss out on this experience. Thank me later.

Hope you enjoyed the post. Need to catch up on the series? Here are quick links for you only 😊

Introductory Post
Nairobi City
Fort Portal
Tafaria Castle
Unlimited Beaches - Beach #1
Hell's Kitchen

I'd be really excited if you followed this series, an upvote, comment, and resteem is sooo cool, too.

Light & Love!

Sort:  

Your so fortunate to live so close to beautiful weather and beaches. I have to travel 24 hours to get to an ocean.

Oh wow 😶. You have some of the most incredible landscapes though. I like to think every place has something unique to offer hence the reason we should travel.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.30 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.06
Server time: 15:35:17
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 45.10/100.00
Total Photos: 8
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.10 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @wachera to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Eh, I think I'd pass on the swimming if there are crocodiles anywhere in that lake. Beautiful spot though ;)

Haha only a certain section has crocs 😂😂. The locals won't even allow you access that side.

Yeah but they move... So how do they ensure the crocs don't come to your section? 😶

😂😂 I see what you're saying but the thing is too huge. Also, the way nature is designed, some of the things are just the way they are. Between me and you, I wouldn't swim either 😆

Yeah... I'm a biologist. I know how crocs kill you. Bugger that 😂

Yea it's not an easy death 😮 they do avoid humans though, right? And only strike only when one disturbs their peace?

I probably always tell you this but you have the best wanderlust-inducing photos. :)

Thank you so much! Means the world to hear that 😘😘

Never knew lake Turkana was this beautiful, at least i have one more bucket list item.

More posts on Turkana coming up. It is unexplored and still very raw.

Can you take me on one of this travels next time? 😊😊

We should do something next year 😊

Definitely. I will be coming to coast in the first quarter, I will visit you we plan in person.

Yes! Karibu 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 57864.53
ETH 2454.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34