A natural amphitheatre with a few 10,000 chinstrap penguins

in #landscapephotography7 years ago (edited)

This shot I took on January 2, 2018 when I was exploring this landing site on Deception Island in the South Shetland Islands with a few good friends and colleagues. If you look in the background you can see penguin colony after penguin colony from the bottom of the valley to the top of the ridge. Penguins everywhere.

The natural shape of the landscape provided a beautiful & unique amphitheatre that echoed 1,000's of penguin calls. Its all you could hear and hard to hear yourself think at times. All I can say about that area is that it is intense on so many different levels - if you love nature than this should be on your list to experience at some point in your life.


20180102_174643.jpg

Click image to view full size.


Thanks for reading and all the support, Steemit!!

All stories & photographs are of my own work unless noted under the picture in question.

For more stories and photos check out my Instagram feed: https://www.instagram.com/thomas_mitchell2912/

Sort:  

There is nothing beautiful than nature

You got a 1.14% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @upali!

Beautiful. The colors look stunning.

You got a 1.14% upvote from @allaz courtesy of @steem69!

I'm always in awe of great photographers. I mean, I'm sitting here in my underwear with a soggy bowl of Life cereal on my lap and even I felt temporarily transported to "Deception Island" (sweet name, btw).

I mean the soggy Life cereal is in a bowl on my lap. I'm a slob but not that much of a slob.

You have some amazing photos!
Gonna follow and upvote :)
Hope you like mine... Good Luck!

Wow! Honestly speaking thats a beautiful work I must comment and indeed I will visit your instagram pages cos am so much in love with your post. For this reason I will follow and upvote you.

Woah. That was indeed a leggit picture. Keep it up. I too love taking wildlife photographs and architecture. So big thumps up for you

Wow! Adding this to my bucket list.

Wow!!!! Nice shot i love wildlife.. Loved what on saw also on instagram .. Am following already.. Thanks for sharing

Nice one had clicked by you, sir.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.45 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.09
Server time: 18:58:26
Account Level: 2
Total XP: 275.73/400.00
Total Photos: 21
Total comments: 9
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 0.60 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63407.49
ETH 2645.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81