Morning on the Pecos River

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

dbf82bda-432f-4280-8829-a9660b76c756.jpeg


I'm visiting southern New Mexico near the Carlsbad Caverns for a few days. First stop is along the Pekos River. I slept on top of my truck to avoid rattlesnakes and was greeted with this view upon waking.

@cahlen


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot | IPFS | Google Play
Sort:  

How scary are rattlesnakes??? do they chase you or do they just curl up in your sleeping bag? I come from Australia so snakes are familiar to me, but not rattlesnakes! Love the picture - the trees stand out so beautifully.

I'm actually not too familiar with their behavior since I'm from an area that doesn't have them. I suspect they don't chase you if you haven't done something they perceive as aggressive. They are also pretty slow moving in these colder months, but they might get chasey when their cold blood is flowing faster in the hot Summer.

Anyone else more familiar with rattlesnakes able to chime in?

I only ever see them in the movies as a symbol so I am interested. Cahlen I havent.forgotten the vippassana thing, just havent had time and I would like a longer post but I have to think about it too xx

No worries! Rivers flow at their own speed.

Nice. Now when you say, "I slept on top of my truck," you mean the truck bed right? My first thought when reading that was that you slept on the roof of your truck which didn't seem right. Although, I just assumed you slept in the truck bed already.

I really mean on top of the truck. I have a weatherproof bivy sack that can contain my sleeping bag and pad.

MVIMG_20180327_070456.jpg

It's more fun than sleeping inside the truck.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 05:36:53
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 31.30/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

a very beautiful post, I really like a friend. You are very good at choosing a journey. I really want to go there.

Nice picture! 👍
upvote-bild-fertig.gif
You got an upvote, so it would be kind to follow this account for more upvotes in the future 👊🏼

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62980.29
ETH 2631.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82