Rainbow Over Lake Tahoe - How I Shot It

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

Yesterday I posted a video where I tried to photograph a rainbow but my efforts failed and I saw no rainbows. In the video, I talked about the importance of accepting failure when shooting landscape photography. My efforts put me in a rainbow kind of mood, so today I am posting a Lake Tahoe rainbow shot that I captured in August of 2017. This is an entry for @juliank's @photocontests #colourfulphotography and #landscapephotography.

Rainbow Over Lake Tahoe 2.jpg

"Rainbow Over Lake Tahoe 2"

This image was photographed on a Canon 5Dsr with a 16-35mm lens set at 16mm. The ISO was 50 so I could get the best quality resolution from the camera and so I can print this one huge with no digital noise showing up in the print. The aperture was f11, with a wide-angle lens that aperture has a great depth of field and everything in the foreground and background is sharp in focus. The shutter speed was 25 seconds long. This long exposure is what allowed the water surface to look smooth even though there was plenty of movement to the water's surface.

A tripod was used but no shutter release cable was used because it was lightly raining and I did not want to have the electronic ports open to the elements. Instead, I used the 2-second timer on the camera. I also used a graduated neutral density filter in front of the lens in order to darken the sky a bit and balance out the sky exposure with the foreground exposure. A polarizer was also used. As I said in yesterday's video, I like to use a polarizing filter when shooting rainbows, you can bring out a little more color to the rainbow and have it look better when you use that filter. The polarizing filter also cut through the glare on the surface of Lake Tahoe and showed the boulders below.

This is a case where I was happy I did not focus on my original subject matter too much. I had actually set up the camera looking in the opposite direction, looking west, the direction the sun would be setting. I happened to look over my shoulder and saw this beautiful rainbow appear, so I quickly changed my set up and focused on the rainbow instead. Glad I did! One downfall to shooting rainbows is the rain... I tried to protect the lens from the rain with my hand during the shot but I still had to wipe the raindrops off the polarizing filter between each shot.



Thank you for looking and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

Sort:  

Such a beautiful shot! Thank you for sharing your work here. Certainly put a smile on my face seeing this.

Thank you so much @kchitrah! Glad it put a smile on your face, I'm sure I'll be sharing more... Have a great day!

Woah!! This is one of my favorite shots from you yet!

So cool that you talk about how you got the shot in your posts. It adds so much value to the photography community!

That's awesome @coruscate! Stoked it's one of your favs and that you find the info valuable. Giving the "how to" has been fun on steemit. Cheers!

Stunning bro. Fantastic. You are a natural when come to education.

Thanks I.J.! Glad you like the photo and the educational info. I'll keep the posts coming... Cheers!

See! You won't find shots like these done by just anyone! In fact, I'm not sure how you outdo yourself seemingly with every post! Such a blessing to have you sharing this with us all.

Thank you @dynamicgreentk! I am very appreciative that you like my work. I'll keep on trying to outdo myself, for you buddy. Cheers!!!

Wow this is so beautiful! I am always trying to get the perfect rainbow shot!

Thank you @vtravels! I find that the polarizing filter is the key. This rainbow was pretty faint but I was able to bring it out a bit more with the filter. Have a great day!

That's why I need to use filters sometimes! I leave that to @skiesandsports most of the time haha!

I really appreciate how you talk about the steps of how you got it done. Thanks for that! I learn from you every day.

That's great to hear @gabyoraa!!! I'll keep on trying to teach a little in most posts. Today's post was more about community than a photo lesson. Feel free to ask me any photo related questions any time. And if you prefer to ask on discord, I have a little channel there on dynamicsteemians: https://discord.gg/wXch4tp Cheers!

Sweetness! Lovely work. Sounds like a fun little expedition. :)

It's hard not to have fun on a Lake Tahoe expedition :) Thank you @monotharch!!!

Hello @scottshots, this kind of view definitely deserve a spot on the Top 10.

Congrats! Your outstanding work is featured on the Photocircle Top 10 Contributors for the category "Wonderful Nature".

Cheers!
Photocircle Team

Learn about this new feature through this post "Introducing the new Photocircle Badges!"

If you want to participate to the new project features, feel free to read it from the link below:

» Photocircle Top 10 Contributors

» Photocircle The Hall of Fame!

Thank you @photocircle! I appreciate the feature!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60856.28
ETH 2937.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44