#Fail!!! The Importance Of Accepting Failure When Shooting Landscape Photography (video)

in #vlog6 years ago (edited)


I went "rainbow hunting" yesterday afternoon and, yup, it was a #fail. Failure happens often when trying to go for those special moments when shooting landscape photography. If I didn't fail often, that would mean that I wasn't trying often and that I wasn't trying to capture those incredible moments when the weather clears for a moment to reveal an epic scene while most people are home, sitting on the couch. In this video, I talk a bit about my failure and I show the scene where I was at least trying to achieve success.

I did try to do my homework to help ensure success but in the mountains, weather forecasts are often wrong. I had checked my weather forecast app and it said that we could expect both rain and sun. That's a great combination for seeing rainbows. I next checked my PlanIt app, it has a great feature that helps you predict the direction in which you can see a rainbow at any time of the day. I saw that a rainbow could potentially line up underneath Rainbow Bridge so I made an early dinner for the family, then grabbed my camera bag and rushed off to this location.

Unfortunately, no rainbows were seen but I'm happy that I at least got out there and tried. There is an old saying that I spoke about in the video - "f8 and be there". The "f8" is the lens aperture, it's a good all around, mid-range aperture that can be used for many photography situations. The "be there", well, if you aren't there, you'll never get the shot. I'm not sure exactly how often I #fail when I go shooting but it is a decent amount. True, I am fortunate to live in an incredible area where these types of scenes aren't too far from my house but still, I could have been sitting on my couch, enjoying steemit instead! lol. My hope is that this post will help motivate you to get out there with your camera (dslr or cell camera) and try shooting more often in adverse weather conditions. Who knows, maybe you'll get lucky and have success every once in a while!

Oh, and just so you don't think I'm a total failure, haha! Here is a nice photo of a rainbow over Donner Lake, photographed last year. I was hoping for this same look, only with the rainbow placed underneath RainbowBridge in the composition. Oh well, I will try again and maybe even #fail again...

Rainbow Over Donner Lake 3.jpg

I'm curious... What are your thoughts on failing in order to achieve success, in any aspect of life?



Thank you for looking, watching, and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Nice bridge. I would say that failure is just a stepping stone toward success. You don't know how many stepping stones there are, so you just go one step at a time until you've failed enough to succeed. :)

It's a regular shooting spot, cool bridge indeed.

Yes! Keep on stepping @brandt, and I will too! It's really how I learn best...

And you're there all by yourself, it's crazy.

I feel at home out there. Didn't really feel alone at all.

Amazing post! I love it. Checkout my new post: http://bit.ly/upmyvoteand and let me know if you like it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 61814.34
ETH 2979.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48