Emerald Bay, Lake Tahoe From A Seaplane (2 photos - which do you prefer?)

I've shot Emerald Bay many times from the ground, but only twice from the air. This was from an incredible flight around Lake Tahoe in a tiny Kitfox seaplane with the door removed. Shortly after this, we touched down in the Bay, where we skimmed across the water for a bit then took off again. It was quite exhilarating and the memory was forever burned into my mind.

I actually captured many other photos of Emerald Bay from this location without the plane in the shot. (In fact I just licensed one of those images yesterday to a gift shop supplier, it is going to be used for a magnet/photo souvenir.) But this image with the wing and pontoon is my favorite of the bunch. I'm not sure if it is because it tells more of a story, or if it's just because of personal reasons and it reminds me of the fun times. Either way, I thought I'd post this one for @czechglobalhosts's 7 World's Continents Photo Challenge - North America.

Seaplane over Lake Tahoe 1(2).jpg

Photographed on a Canon 5D MarkII with a 17-40mm lens set at 17mm. The ISO was 800, the aperture was f8, and the shutter speed was 1/1250, nice and fast in order to deal with the moving and vibrating plane.

Emerald Bay, Lake Tahoe Aerial 5.jpg

Above is the photo that I licensed yesterday with no plane in the shot.

I'm curious, which of the two photos do you prefer and why?



Thank you for looking and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg


I'm Speaking At The Las Vegas Steemit Creators Conference! April 13-15

CConference.png

steemcreators.com

Sort:  

What a fantastic work you are doing? CHEER @scottshots

Thank you @luckyyou, glad you like it. Cheers!

The first one, I sometimes think that the inclusion of some human element can add to the quality of the picture.

Thank you @steve-d, yeah, I often try to exclude human elements but then end up liking the photos where I did have it.

I'll take the one with the boat in it.

It's yours!!!! My favorite too but the other shot has made me more $ so I like it as well...

Now there's no contest. Boat photo + $

money boat.jpg

Now we're talking! Haha!

What a wonderful photo of Emerald bay!!
Such a beautiful place, I got to see it in the late
70's when living in Zephyr cove for awhile.

When the snow would melt on the western mountains
you could see a big white cross of snow that was left
in the ravines on the mountains across the lake from
east side. Wondering if you have photos of that? :-)

Thank you @shasta, Emerald Bay is great!!! That's cool you got to live in Zephyr cove for a while, that side of the lake is a lot of fun. I don't recall seeing the snow cross and I just searched my archive with no luck. I'll have to keep an eye out for it this spring. Thanks for the heads up!

Been a number of years since thinking about it. Looking
it up I found this link with topo map. Mt Tallac snow cross.
It is south of the lake more so than west, kinda looks like like a T.

I see, thank you @shasta. I'll look for it next time at that end of the lake...

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.10
Server time: 01:02:54
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 515.13/800.00
Total Photos: 58
Total comments: 27
Total contest wins: 4
And have also received a 0.96 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=scottshots
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=emerald-bay-lake-tahoe-from-a-seaplane-2-photos-which-do-you-prefer


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 62471.79
ETH 2621.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56