3 Different Looks To The Same Sunset - Which One Do You Like Best?

On Tuesday, there was smoke to the air and a little bit of clouds in the sky so after dinner, I grabbed my gear and headed down to Donner Lake, here in Truckee, California. I was running late so I went to an easy but great spot for photographing a sunset. The video of the making of the sunset can be seen below.

Here are three different techniques for shooting the same sunset.

I'm curious, which one do you like best?



click on the images to view larger
_Q1A7792.jpg #1

This first image was shot using an underwater housing with the Canon 5DS R and a 24-105mm lens, set at 24mm. The underwater housing was dipped into the lake and the lens was right on the surface, picking up really cool reflections of the sunset. The ISO was 400, the shutter speed was nice and fast at 1/400 second, which led to an aperture of f4.

_Q1A7860.jpg#2

This second image was shot on a tripod with the 16-35mm lens, set at 16mm. A graduated neutral density filter used on the front of the lens. It was a 30-second long exposure, which created a smooth look to the surface of the lake. A little bit of the small crashing waves can be seen in the shot. The ISO was 50 and the aperture was f13.

_Q1A7850.jpg#3

This last image was shot with similar techniques to #2 but it was only 2-second exposure, long enough to smear the surface of the water a bit, but quick enough to still pick up more texture to the waves and lake's surface. The ISO was 500 and the aperture was f14.

So there you have it, 3 different looks to the same sunset. I like them all but I can't decide which one I like best. Please let me know your favorite!

A dtube video of the making of these photos can be seen HERE.




Thank you for looking, watching, and reading!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Click to view my Dynamic Steemians Discord channel. Feel free to ask me photo related questions there:

Sort:  

Each is good, and depending on what you want to convey, each would be perfect. But, in a vacuum, no other input? I'd choose #1 Top image.

The angle is one most do not see. Most see either of the bottom two, but that shot, eye level with lake wave top height, is perfect.

I like the DOF of the wavelets, the colours, and the framing. what's not to love about it?

Awesome, thank you @bluefinstudios! Glad you like that first lake level one best. Cheers!

I agree. It's a tough choice but I love the angle on the third one.

Posted using Partiko Android

I will take number 3.

Personally, the first one. But they're all great, and worthy of a resteem!

Oh nice! Thank you @photofeed!

first one because of the unique perspective.
second one is to long for me it almost look like sand.
the third one is my second one :D

Thank you @bil.prag! I appreciate your explanation and I understand about that "sand" look. Too long of an exposure can be a bit too much sometimes.

Gosh, Im tossed between 1 and 2. I like the full waves, then I like it extremely flat. Ok.... 1 & 2 final answer!

Number 3. I love the water pattern and how the background is more clear and detailed than #1. I love how you ask for our input!

Cool! Thanks @dynamicsteemians! Yeah, I also like that water pattern a lot in #3. Asking for input has been a lot of fun so I'll keep on doing it when I can. Cheers!

First one definitely for me. The low angle on the water captures the colours of the sunset beautifully.

Thank you @revo! That low angle is a fun look to get.

Number 1 forsure is my pick you don't
see that angle and color very often!
We've heard there is a fire near Emigrant
gap, is that were this smoke is from?
Hope all is well your way, take care!

Things are good here. Yup, it's the Emigrant Gap fire. Fortunately we are far enough away that we don't have to worry about it and there wasn't much smoke in the air today. But it is still burning...
Glad you like that first shot, thank you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60318.52
ETH 2983.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78