Last Night's Photography Fun At Donner Lake, California

in #vlog6 years ago


Join me on last night's little sunset photo adventure out at Donner Lake in Truckee, California (shot 9-4-2018). I noticed from my house that there was smoke from a wildfire in the air, as well as a little bit of clouds so I grabbed my gear after dinner and rushed down to the lake, about 10 minutes from my house. These kind of conditions are always a little sad to shoot in because you know there is a big fire out there causing destruction, but the conditions can also provide some intense orange sunsets. The "keeper" photos from the evening can be seen at the end of the video.



Thank you for watching!

Scott Thompson
Scott Shots Photography
portraitandlogo200.jpg

left.gifscottshots.gif



Click to view my Dynamic Steemians Discord channel. Feel free to ask me photo related questions there:


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

The result was great. I really need to get ND filter as well. I've seen some cheap ones but really expensive ones as well. What makes the differnece ?

Thank you @greddyforce! Yes, the graduated neutral density filters are great for landscape photography. I currently use the Lee filter system which is not cheap... For many years, I used a less expensive filter holder and filters and they got the job done just fine. However, with the Lee system I can use a polarizing filter along with the graduated ND if I want to. The Lee filters are supposedly better quality too so I technically should have sharper photos when printed huge.

they sure came out really nice even without you having a very colourful sunset, it does help when you know what you are doing, I never knew you could use your phone to help with taking photos that is pretty cool x

Thank you @trucklife-family! Yup, the right gear and techniques help a lot. Connecting the phone to the computer can be a lot of fun, images can also be downloaded from the camera to the phone, perfect for posting "keeper" photos from the field. Cheers!

Yes this is little sad as we can't see destruction of nature

The art of photography just knows Scott.

Thanks, I glad you liked it!

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=scottshots
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=vtvbz8iz


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

great & impressive

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70191.58
ETH 3817.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78