You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How to Spell “Curvaceous” in Natural Script – Landscape Photography

I hope I can make it to Gili someday :) You must have had such an incredible adventure there, my scuba diving friends rave about it to me all the time. I'm happy that you're studying the Thai language, as am I. It's quite difficult even though I can speak it.

Sort:  

Quite difficult, but rather interesting.

However, I enrolled in the course only for the visa, as I'd like to stay here for 1 year. So, I'm not really serious about learning the language, and I spend most of my time on Steemit, not on studying Thai.

As you may have assumed, I find languages fascinating. But I'm not even sure how long I'll stay here after this year, so I cannot motivate myself to study.

Gili is good. Definitely worth going to if you want a relaxing vacation. There are 3 Gili islands, and motorized vehicles are banned on them. Pony carts are the main mode of transportation. That makes for a pleasant environment.

That's some great feedback for Gili. I've discovered that I have a fascination for languages as well. What I've noticed about travelling a bit is the history behind it all is very captivating. I attempted to translate a Thai article about linguistic landscaping into English and utterly failed because it's beyond my depth of marketing lingo. But whilst researching the hell is linguistic landscaping, I've come to realize this is something I'm truly interested in, how did all these languages change the local society and slang? It's incredible stuff and I hope that you've made some really awesome Thai friends that help you with casual conversations :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60025.27
ETH 2417.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42