How to Spell “Curvaceous” in Natural Script – Landscape Photography

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

I came across this curvaceous plant decorating a beach on the tiny Indonesian island of Gili Meno (between Bali and Lombok).

[Right-Click Here to Enlarge Photo]

Call it “shapely nature” 

Since I’m neither a botanist nor a tropical islander, I have no idea of what the name of this plant is. I don’t even know whether I should call it a plant or a tree. But it created a wonderful little scene, particularly when contrasted against the light blue sky and the dark blue sea off the western beach of the island.  

It spells “curvaceous greenery” 

When I first saw this, it immediately struck me that the shape was similar to the shapes of certain Southeast Asian scripts. In fact, now that I live in Thailand and am studying the Thai language, I find that certain Thai characters remind me of this plant on Gili Meno.    

See for yourself. Don’t those Thai characters on the right resemble the shape of that plant? They do to me, particularly when I squint a little. In fact, it seems as if they are turning green!
(Note – That is not a Thai word. Those are just 4 random characters from the Thai script, which do not spell "curvaceous greenery."  At least, I don't think so.)

Location – Gili Meno This is my entry in @juliank’s LandScapre Photography contest.

Sort:  

The Thai script isn't a pictograph language, is it?

Nope. Just random lines and swirls indicating sounds. Kinda like the ABCs, but prettier.

The tree looks like the perfect host for a colony of hammocks:-)

If I recall correctly, it might fit only 1 or maybe 2 hammocks. Or maybe 5+ mini-hammocks for kids!

eeeeeee it's hard to pronounce curvaceous ;p
It tried 3 to 4 times to get it right ;p
but i'm think i'm still not getting it right :(

is it recording by you sir!
Thank you so much for helping <3

Nope, just found on YouTube. You can find the pronunciation of almost any English word on YouTube.

Thank you so much for your assistance sir!

I hope I can make it to Gili someday :) You must have had such an incredible adventure there, my scuba diving friends rave about it to me all the time. I'm happy that you're studying the Thai language, as am I. It's quite difficult even though I can speak it.

Quite difficult, but rather interesting.

However, I enrolled in the course only for the visa, as I'd like to stay here for 1 year. So, I'm not really serious about learning the language, and I spend most of my time on Steemit, not on studying Thai.

As you may have assumed, I find languages fascinating. But I'm not even sure how long I'll stay here after this year, so I cannot motivate myself to study.

Gili is good. Definitely worth going to if you want a relaxing vacation. There are 3 Gili islands, and motorized vehicles are banned on them. Pony carts are the main mode of transportation. That makes for a pleasant environment.

That's some great feedback for Gili. I've discovered that I have a fascination for languages as well. What I've noticed about travelling a bit is the history behind it all is very captivating. I attempted to translate a Thai article about linguistic landscaping into English and utterly failed because it's beyond my depth of marketing lingo. But whilst researching the hell is linguistic landscaping, I've come to realize this is something I'm truly interested in, how did all these languages change the local society and slang? It's incredible stuff and I hope that you've made some really awesome Thai friends that help you with casual conversations :)

I love the way the trees create a series of frames, makes me want to put things in them.

Ya. And it's interesting how these simple but uniques curves / shapes give different people different ideas.

Wow! Amazing....

My first time seeing this kind of plant / tree.
It's look like having the arms and feet and will continue to creat another branch followed with the roots.

Yeah, it looks like it's ALIVE! Oh, it is ... it's a plant.

Amazing photo. For the first time I see such a tree-like plant. Good luck to you and Love.

Великолепное фото. Впервые вижу такое древоподобное растение. Удачи Вам и Любви.

That tree looks like a giant clown..!

And i guess its too big to be called a plant, so tree suits fine. I guess those are part of roots, dropping from the branches..! That gave it a mystic look..!
Anyways, have a good day..!

~ Tennis Girl 🎾🎾

At first glance, i thought there are 4/5 trees adjusted together, but then i realised it's a single tree.
What a creation of nature!!!!
Thanks for sharing this nice photo
☺☺👍👍

Ya, there's a lot of such plants in the tropics. They look like a mass of trees / plants, but in fact it's just one big plant with lots of trunks / roots.

nature at its best, nature can do anything and no one is gonna question it, if nature does something different we call it unique otherwise all the other things are common

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60007.10
ETH 2415.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41