Coolest Rocks and Dirt You'll Ever See

in #landscapephotography7 years ago (edited)

Now who doesn't love staring at a bunch of rocks? In this case, the mesas found in New Mexico.


About a 4-hour drive west of Albuquerque is a small town called Gallup, home to many classic Western films and the famous El Rancho Hotel. But what I found fascinating was on the outskirts of town.



Photo taken by my smartphone at the time, an HTC somethingorother.

Everywhere there were these huge rock formations, many with a bright orange color. But seeing them in black and white, you can really focus on all the shadows and striations in the layers of dirt.

And everyone knows the one thing more interesting to look at than rocks is...dirt.


Just look at all that dirt! Look at it!

It almost looks like it's driftwood in this picture. Random guy for scale. He was kind of tall.



Don't you feel like you're in some old western film?

This definitely looks like a place for an ambush. Maybe we won't go there.



If you enjoyed this post, then I did my job well. I write posts on...well, does anybody really care? Follow me and find out, upvote what you like.

Sort:  

Cool :D nice photos

You have earned 5 XP for making 5 comments today!

>Learn more here<

I kept hearing that western movie whistley horn sound.....like they play just before a gunfight when sweaty guys with guns are staring at each other. What the hell instrument is that? I kept hearing that in this post.

Super cool pics. That second one is excellent.

Isn't it just a guy whistling followed by a hawk screeching or something?

Wonderful Photos! I only wish I was this good or had the chance to frame it. Very Nice. I'd hang it on my wall!

Wow thanks! I think smartphones can make some pretty good pictures nowadays, but a lot of it has to do with the composition of it. Try to take lots of pictures of things from different angles and see what works best. :)

i love NM scenery, the red and orange burnt umber in striated layers. i'd love to see these in color.

I have a much better series of colored photos from there on another drive. These actually are much prettier in black and white, IMO. But now I have another post idea! ;)

yeshhhh!!! im a color fiend myself. color on everything!!!

Yes ma'am, duly noted. :)

amazing bw colour.
i follow and resteem post

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #landscapephotography, the weekly selection will be released on Wednesday.

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 18:59:35
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 10.10/100.00
Total Photos: 2
Total comments: 0
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Soooooo pretty! I love black and white so much!

It's interesting because if we only saw black and white, that would be considered a fault in our eyesight. But it certainly draws attention to things that may get lost in color.

I don't like staring at a bunch of rocks; but I remember I used to kick small rocks and dirt on my way home from school and mum would scream at my dirty roughened shoes.

The last picture looks like a place in "The Ridiculous 6" The place of the singing mill

Nice pics by the way (taken by your smartphone at the time, an HTC somethingorother)

Lol

LOL couldn't remember what phone I had. So rocks and dirt do offer other ways of entertainment beyond ambushes and just sitting there looking cool: dirty shoes!

These kinds of formations remind me that there are things around that are a bit more impressive than some of man's achievements. Not meaning to drag politics in, but I'd much rather look at these than a wall.

God gives us endless wonders to marvel at, doesn't he?

The first pic reminded me of something you'd see on Mars or the moon. Very interesting photos!

That's true, it's very crater-like!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66