My best Northern Lights observation @martingo

in #landscapephotography6 years ago (edited)

My best Northern Lights observation

Hi dear Steemians! Today I prepared a batch of Northern Lights photos that I took on 18.03.2015. For a long time I kept them for myself because of the high noise on the pictures, but I find a way to remove it to pretty good level so I decided to share them:)
I know that there are tons of amazing Northern Lights pictures of better quality, but taking into consideration that I took them with Canon 60D with a lot of mentioned noise and sometimes on too long exposure times (the idea was to limit the noise, but then the Aurora starts looking to blurry) after all, I'm happy from that look.

It was my second Northern Lights observation (after a trip to Tromso especially for that purpose) and this time it was more then 1300km to the south from that city and the Aurora intensity was soo much higher that I experienced before in Tromso. I remember that the KP level (in simple words it is an index of how far to the south Aurora can be visible, but it is just a colloquial meaning and in terms of physics it has to be something more sophisticated :D and it's related directly to geomagnetic storms ) was very high, probably around 8 and the Aurora was visible even from the central part of Poland, Germany and similar latitudes which is quite unique.

Ok, enough of this boring introduction - now lets jump to the photos!


For best image experience, please right click on it and open image in new tab.


IMG_3271-2_filtered.jpg

ISO800, f2.8, 3.2sec, @11mm

IMG_3259_filtered.jpg

ISO800, f2.8, 6sec, @11mm

IMG_3268_filtered.jpg

ISO800, f2.8, 6sec, @11mm

IMG_3272-3_filtered.jpg

ISO800, f2.8, 6sec, @11mm

IMG_3231_filtered.jpg

ISO400, f3.2, 25sec, @16mm


CategoryLandscape/Nightscape/Astrophotography
GearCanon 60D+Tokina 11-16 f/2.8
LocationJorpeland, Norway

All pictures published in my posts are #originalworks made by me and are #originalcontent


Thank you for the upvotes&comments.
Please follow me to don't miss next photos!

Sort:  

Wow,.. this is amazing!
I wish I could one day go to see the Northern Lights.
Great Photographs martingo!

Thank you @avant! You can do this from the UK if you will track the Aurora activity and will be patient enough!

I like your post and I think it is valuable for the photo community on Steemit!
@photofriend upvoted you! (Upvotes this week: 2 / What is the hash-tag race?
@photofriend - Supporting original photography on Steemit and fight against plagiarism.

I like your post, is amazing...

Wow! I love these. What a fun experience to share. Life is beautiful.

I'm inviting you to participate in the #sevendaybnwchallenge. I hope you will accept the invitation.

https://steemit.com/sevendaybnwchallenge/@everlove/day-4-blossoms-in-the-breeze-sevendaybnwchallenge

Thank you @everlove for nice comment! Of course I'm accepting the invitation and the challenge, I can already assure you that it will be not easy one for me!:)

Glad you're stepping up to the challenge @martingo. Come back and drop me a link when you make your posts. Would love to see what you have to offer!

Absolutely stunning!
One day for us!
We tried the Southern Light in Tasmania but that was a fail for us. As we were telling another steemian we did not really know what we were looking for lol

Haha, I can imagine that... until there is no strong activity and a clear sky to see it, it may be challenging especially for the first time :) But if you are 'in the zone' on the other hand it's hard to not notice it I believe! ;)

These are amazing photos. I am glad you decided to release them. I have heard that Norway is one of the best places in the world to view the Northern lights. It looks like that may be true.

Hi @veckinon, it is true becaouse of it's latitude, especially the northern parts of Norway, but it can be visible from many other places, probably in yours as well :) You can check this article: http://visitbigskymt.com/northern-lights-big-sky-montana/

I submitted your post for an @curie upvote. I am glad to see it was accepted and upvoted. Keep up the good work. Your photos are unreal!

Thank you @veckinon for submitting it <3 I just read your story about the Tooth Fairy that I had no idea about! Great article and amazing initiative of the @curie project.

I have seen them a few times here in Montana. I have a friend who is a photographer from my home town who has a few photos of them. They are definitely not as prominent here as they are there, but still amazing to see. Here is a link to one of my friends photos...

https://www.facebook.com/ridlephoto/photos/a.139351816115775.36740.134221206628836/1598199786897630/?type=3&theater

Great, I think that most important is to know that it's possible to observe it not only from countires closest to the north pole, but with some effort and will to do it it's possible from distant locations as well! Photo taken by your friend reminds me pictures taken in Poland on the very same night that mine above, but because of the KP range it was visible in a form of glow on a horrizon (link here)

This article is amazing. I wish i could be there someday.

Awesome post!! Keep it up and check out THIS POST as well as I have something similar.

Loading...

Upvoted and resteemed. Thank you for using my service

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61095.28
ETH 2922.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65