A Smoky Edinburgh City Nightscape


20121104-IMG_2274_5_6_tonemapped-edit.jpg

This is an HDR landscape shot of my city taken from a place called blackford hill. Its a great little place that overlooks the whole city and also features the Royal Observatory, which is part of the University of Edinburgh's Physics and Astronomy Department. Its one of my favourite places in the city, not just for the views of the city, but because you get a great view of the night sky. The light pollution is still pretty bad but nothing compared to some of the other places I've lived.

The biggest problem is looking at the stars here is the frequent cloud cover in scotland. I am still hoping to spot the aurora borealis one day but I keep missing it (it is visible from here .. but only just). That is the one the above all else that is on my photography bucket list. Have you got a photo bucket list? What's on it?

Anyway, this was shot in november on guy fawkes night. Its a night where we celebrate the failed plot by guy fawkes to blow up the houses of parliament. We let off a lot of fireworks which is what makes the whole city look a bit foggy.. its actually left over firework smoke, which is why I've titled it a 'smoky nightscape'.

This is also a shot I have managed to sell in the past as a print so I am rather proud of it.


image

Thanks for Looking.
Follow me and read more of my posts here: @fiftysixnorth
Don't forget to Upvote and Resteem


Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Beautiful photograph. I have a very soft spot for Edinburgh as my beloved late Grandmother came from there. Unfortunately, I have never visited there and it has always been a dream of mine. Thank you for this vision.

Thank you, it is my pleasure to share this with you :) I hope one day you manage to full fill your dream one day and visit :)

Thanks. I suppose as long as we have a bit of life in us, we can continue to dream. Meanwhile I will enjoy your photographs.

Absolutely :) You are never too old to dream!

If you had not written that it was Edinburg I would have thought that it was some magical fantasy made up city. It looks not real, so beautiful 💚

Thanks :) Edinburgh often does feel to me like a fantasy land. The history in this place as well as the ancient architecture makes it surreal sometimes :)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-04T18:15:21
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 553.92/800.00
Total Photos: 34
Total comments: 26
Total contest wins: 7
And have also received a 0.27 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Wonderful photography, wanna visit Edinburgh, blabla you know the deal, BUT how are you feeling today? :)

Hahaha! thanks :) I'm feeling a little better but only because I slept all day long! I hope to sleep through most of tomorrow and get even better :)

I'm glad to hear you are a little better, are you gonna Netflix and Steemit all night? :D

lol! pretty much! I netflix and napped all day .. so will netflix and steemit at least for a little while now :)

Any good shows to binge on?

I started Lost in Space but 4 episodes in im losing interest, 'jessica jones' was good, though 'iron fist' was bad. I like 'murder in paradise' but only because its set in the Caribbean and has lots of caribbean music (its very soothing and kinda reminds me of my childhood and where i grew up a bit) also i love a murder mystery! I haven't looked beyond that yet.. netflix can be hit or miss. any recommendations?

Weeds is one of my all time favourite series on Netflix, and I don’t even smoke 😅 I think you would like Jack Taylor, it’s set in Ireland and the main character is a drunk private investigator.

ooh that sounds interesting! Jack Taylor sounds good. I've never watched weeds but its on my 'to watch' list. :) Thanks for the suggestions!

The city lights and gradients are amazing . nice shot.

Thanks so much :D

Great capture :) Nice and moody and the clouds and smoke add a certain spookiness which Edinburgh certainly has.

Thanks! I thought so too :) I really like how it plays with the spotlights over the castle personally :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61938.24
ETH 2404.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53