Iceland's Aquamarine Volcanic Lake

KERID


Another stop on our Golden Circle car tour besides Gullfoss Waterfall which I wrote about here, was the 3,000 year old, 55m (180 feet) deep Kerið (Kerid) volcanic crater (or caldera) with its striking lake of opaque deep aquamarine water.


kerid iceland-1.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


Situated in Grimsnes in Iceland's Western Volcanic Zone, it is the most intact volcanic crater in the region and was formed by magma chambers which collapsed causing this oversized "sinkhole."


kerid iceland-2.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus
kerid iceland-4.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


If you are thinking that it kind of resembles an amphitheater, you are not too far off track in your thinking! Musicians have occasionally performed on a platform in the center of the lake, with the audience sitting around the crater. The Icelandic singer Björk performed here back in 1987.


kerid iceland-3.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved. Camera: iPhone 8 Plus


(Check out my collection of souvenir Iceland products on Zazzle


my banner.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Beautiful place and beautiful photos @dmcamera

Thank you! I appreciate your kind comment!

Nice! That looks like an awesome lake to visit. Almost looks like it could be in a crater from a UFO or meteor haha

Yes, it does have some mystique to it.It's fun to hike all around the rim and down into the crater itself. I did not go down into the crater that day, as a knee was acting up, so I left that part to my husband. I hiked around the rim.

How deep is the lake itself? I assumed the 55m is the depth of the crater.

The entire crater is 55m deep. The lake itself is not very deep, and varies with rainfall. I think it's between 7 and 14 meters deep.

7 to 14m is still pretty deep. I wouldn't be as relaxed as Björk singing on a platform over it. lol

It’s all relative. Lol! Loch Morar, Scotland’s deepest loch is 310 meters deep!!

Fantastic shots such a gorgeous area so so beautiful, thanks for sharing

Thanks! Just my iphone shots too. I have not edited my shots from my Canon yet.

Really wow, looking forward to seeing the Canon Shots

Thanks! It may be next year before I get around to that. LOL!

I can relate to that :)

We spent only 3 days in Iceland. I was almost a month in Scotland, so have enough to write about from there to last a year! Lol!!

That’s great to keep you going on here 👍😎

Looks like Azores Islands but those reddish tones makes it more awesome!

Yes, the red volcanic rock was very interesting!

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-09-23T20:22:27
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 623.54/800.00
Total Photos: 59
Total comments: 147
Total contest wins: 2
And have also received a 3.00 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

What a fabulous place, Diane! I love the third photo even more than the rest. It would be awesome to have the chance to see Bjork performing there!

I agree! It's my favorite too, so I should have made it the first one. Duh! I would have loved to see that performance too. I imagine it's on Youtube somewhere. :-)

But all of them are awesome, Diane! I will try to search for the video on youtube! Cheers, my dear!

I will too. I'm curious now!

@dmcamera a fantastic post! How hot is the water? Can a person swim in the lake? Blessings!

Good questions! I don't think swimming in the lake is allowed. My guess is that the water is very cold as it is not thermal water, but mainly water from rainfall, but I could be wrong!

Iceland is such a magical place! I visited this crater 10 years ago! Now I feel like going to Iceland again

It’s crazy busy in August. I would go in June or September next time.

oh yeah i could imagine! I went in October, it was quite peaceful and there there was the iceland airwaves festival in Reykjavik too

Was it very rainy in October? I was there in September last year, but just for a quick layover in Reykjavik.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63219.83
ETH 2574.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.78