LANDSCAPE/SEASCAPE CONTEST WEEK #008 - Gulf Islands Sunset

in #landscape5 years ago (edited)

This photo is my submission for week eight of @axeman's Landscape/Seascape photocontest, sponsored by @block-lotto and @drakos

This photo was taken from Mt. Tolmie in Victoria, BC. Looking north during sunset, you can see the layers of hills which are actually islands. The taller peaks on the most distant horizon would be on the mainland. Somewhere over there is the city of Vancouver which is almost due north of Victoria.

Nikon D750, 1/800s f/5.6 ISO1000 300mm
a3xt44dmz2.jpg

What I like about this photo are the layers which change from pure black in the foregound to light gray in the distance.

Please click for a full-screen view! Thanks a lot for taking a look!

dtgd90ugsq.gif

NOT for the contest, but just because I like to give you more than one photo... here's another shot from Mt. Tolmie, this time looking west and showing a bit of the city below... I usually try to hide the city in my landscape shots, because I want you to think I live in the woods! But no... I don't. :)

dkvfj5c4iw.jpg

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Thank you @pixresteemer!

Your photo submission is one if my favourites of yours @keithboone (and that list is expansive) and those layered features and alluring colours of nature are just magnificent.

Good Luck with this contest, my friend. (U & R)

Thanks so much, Trudee! You always say the nicest things! I sure hope I haven't sent this photo to this contest before! My organization skills seem to be getting worse!

It is aways a pleasure to show my appreciation for your wonderful photography Keith. I'm not sure where I have seen this capture but even if it was in Steemit, I'm sure it is perfectly acceptable to re-submit a pic if it suits a certain critieria. I did a couple of days ago for a contest. It is hard to remember what I've posted sometimes though, despite my 'fail proof' (cough) filing system.

Thanks, Trudee. The photo is taken from a "scenic lookout" and I've taken several shots from there, so you may have seen this one or another similar sunset. I don't mind reposting something, I just had this horrifying thought that I might have sent the same shot to the same contest a couple of weeks later. That wouldn't be good... in any case, this one got an honourable mention which makes me very happy especially considering the stiff competition :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 64579.45
ETH 3101.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83