First Day At The Fire House

in #labor8 years ago

Showed up early, checked off my gear and meet a bunch of new faces. My crews expectaions and my roll was laid out clearly. My first call of nine was a high speed reck on the highway where bones were out of place. Trauma nurses are indeed special people.

For my new crew to see If I can hang required us to go out and drill in the streets. The drill consisted of me jumping off the truck wrapping a supply line around a fire hydrant to secure a water source, trowing my SCBA and pulling a hand line to the entrance of a boarded up building. Once there at the entrance I masked up and got ready for the fire fight by getting my gear properly on and water stream ready. I was instructed to spray water and move the line down the sidewalk, I went until I couldn't go anymore.

I learned many things this day, including that my Captain runs ultra marathons (100miles) my senior fire fighter is getting married soon, and my engineer is an incredible resource of knowledge on the fire ground. Most importantly I learned that these men will do anything to get me home to my new wife. I couldn't be more excited to work for and with these gentlemen for the next 3 months while I learn to be a professional fire fighter.

Sort:  

Nice post! I will follow you from now on.

Congratulations @veritas122316! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @veritas122316! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58659.71
ETH 3164.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43