Artist’s Lair or Grandmother’s Attic?

in #krsuccesslast month

I’ve not been privy to many artist’s studios save for photos in magazines. I’ve seen Rothko’s, de Kooning’s, Pollock’s, and others. This photo essay is about my father’s art studio. The primary distinguishing factor that immediately strikes me when I compare studios is that my father’s does double duty as what has to be the world’s largest Grandmother’s Attic. About 2,000 square feet of grandmother’s attic.

1__-_22FfgP9Vmb-W9HzgbTA@2x.webp

Since I was a child, it has been a source of magic, amazement, and joy for me. Yes, for the wonder of being with my father when he was in the zone of his art-making. But for uncovering generations of our family’s furniture, keepsakes, and things that simply can’t be thrown away. Some of these items might qualify as heirlooms. But, truth be told, most of the things housed here are what I fondly call “hair-looms”. Worth absolutely nothing to anyone but packrats like me and my dad. And the absolute coolest thing is that every time, and I mean EVERY TIME I go for a visit, I find new delights just waiting for me to capture them for my photo albums.

Here are a few that I captured this August:

Sort:  

"Wow, what a treasure trove! 🏠🔍 This photo essay is a fascinating glimpse into not just an artist's studio, but also a family's history and heirlooms (or should I say "hair-looms"? 😂). Your dad's studio must be a dream come true for anyone who loves art, nostalgia, and curiosity. It's wonderful that you've been able to capture so many amazing moments and objects in your photo albums. I'm loving the journey through this 2,000 sq ft Grandmother's Attic! 📸😍 Can't wait to see more of these hidden gems! 😊"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 67211.91
ETH 2613.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68