Why Is Truth Important

in #krnelcontest6 years ago

deceive-1299043_960_720.png
Pixabay CC0

INTRODUCTION

There are many abused words; love, fun, happiness, etc., but personally, I think the most abused word is Truth. A lack of truth in itself, is the cause of the abuse of the other words. In this post, I am going to take you on a mini journey, showing you the essence of Truth.

Truth is strong enough to overcome all human sophistries. ~ Aeschines

WHAT IS TRUTH

This is an age long question. In fact, the Bible records that Pilate asked Jesus that question hours before he was crucified.

The interesting thing about this record is that earlier on, Jesus had shared that He is the way, the TRUTH, and the life, so if I were Him, I'd probably roll my eyes at that question, but considering He was about to be crucified, it was no funny matter.

I am a Christian, and so I know that Christ is Truth, as He shows the real situation of my life, and helps me change what needs changing.

Yet, what is Truth to all and sundry? How do I tell the person who doesn't share my belief what Truth is

Not curiosity, not vanity, not the consideration of expediency, not duty and conscientiousness, but an unquenchable, unhappy thirst that brooks no compromise leads us to truth. ~ G. W. F. Hegel

I used to say and think that Truth was or is reality or facts, until I read and agreed that many times your reality depends on your thoughts, and many facts have been twisted, so much that the truth is not recognized in it, and yet it would be called fact.

If I tell you I saw a ghost and you don't believe me, it doesn't matter what you say, if my mind believes it saw a ghost, my reality is that I saw a ghost.

I got to the conclusion that Truth is Truth. Truth simply is. It is independent of notions, beliefs, views and experiences. On its own, truth is self existent.

So whether I saw a ghost or not, whether you believe me or not, if I saw a ghost, I did, if I didn't, I didn't. The truth is.

I also believe that for every situation, there is a truth, for it is not relative.

One of my earliest posts on Steemit was about truth, read it here.

WHY IS TRUTH IMPORTANT?

Here's the million dollar question.

We have seen what truth is, we see that it is not relative, but what does it matter?
I mean, why is there always someone asking, "are you telling the truth?"

I'll tell you why.

The opposite of truth is falsehood. So imagine living a lie because he (or she) 'simply' said he loved you.

Imagine you are not your parent's child, and you found out they lied to you all the while. The first thought that crosses your mind will be something in the line of, "who am I?" "who am I really supposed to be?"

Truth is important because it gives the world an order. Truth is important because it is the only sure thing. It is the only dependable thing, seeing that all other opinions or views or beliefs are dependent on one thing or the other. Truth is independent and so it is firm and sure.

The only way to avoid mistakes is to ask what Pilate asked Jesus, "What is truth?" and stick with it when you discover it.

The search for the truth is the most important work in the whole world — and the most dangerous. ~ James Clavell

Truth is the only sure way to live right. Truth is what makes the liar a liar, the thief a thief, and the righteous person a righteous person. Truth shows the true nature of things, and so we know what is wrong and how to fix it.

chinese-675119_960_720.jpg
Pixabay CC0

Truth is what keeps things in order, and without it we would be lost. It is like the compass of our lives without which we would be lost.

CONCLUSION

Truth is what makes life meaningful and rewarding, without it, there will be no community, as everyone would have a different path.

I believe communities make the world go round, and each community built on truth last forever.

So, the question was, "Why is Truth important?", well, it serves as our compass, and it makes the world go round.

Finally Truth is what reveals who we are.

When a man who is honestly mistaken hears the truth, he will either quit being mistaken or cease being honest. ~ Richard Humpal


REFERENCES

Wikiquote

Wikipedia

Economic Times Blog


This post was inspired by the Writing Contest by @krnel.


Djoi Writes

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Djoi from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31