Confession Time: 3 K-Pop Music Videos that Changed My Life

in #kpop7 years ago (edited)

Okay. Confession time: there was a time in my life where I really liked Korean music. It was brief, but significant.

The rise of K-Pop and Korean music has been steady and strong the past decade or so, and I never really got into the craze. I was and still am extremely picky, so there are only a handful of K-Pop songs that I actually like. I usually will get into a song because of the melody and the way it's produced, as well as how well the music video translates it's meaning or at least entertains me. I'm a very visual person.

I've decided to list down 3 of my favorite K-Pop songs. They're pretty old, since most of the music I like was released between 2009-2011. I have written a review of each video and explained why I liked them.

On with the show!

1. Bad Boy - BIGBANG

Big Bang has always been a crowd favorite. They're one of the early international sensations. (I'm from the Philippines, so their reach and hold on their Filipino fans was pretty impressive. We're a country that loves Caucasian-looking features. They really broke many of us in with the 'chinito' [Chinese/East Asian] look.) Bad Boy is a really good song, reminiscent of early 2000's R&B. It's one of the really well-produced KPop songs. The music video is so enjoyable, from the urban feel to the dance moves. The costumes are dramatic because it's K-Pop, but doesn't look like drag because I think it's balanced by the grungy setting and the overall R&B theme of the song and music video.

Basically, the boys go around the city looking sexy and dancing the Dougie, apologising for being a bad boy when you've been such a good girl. So, let them make it up to you with some sweet jams and sensual lovemaking--- because you know you still love them, even if they've been very. Very. Bad.

2. I Need A Girl - Taeyang

Now this was a fun song. And a fun music video, too. I remember fantasizing about being Sandara Park (the leading lady) and having my own choreographed partner dance. That little finger move was timed in so well with the playful piano thing. Ugh I effing died. The English was not too good but luckily, it wasn't bad enough to completely ruin the rest of the song for me. The rest of the song, from the beat to the melody to the little effects, made the song one of the most danceable and smooth songs I have ever heard. Easy on the ears.

3. Love Song - Rain(Bi)

UHM. OKAY. I need to get into this for a minute, so please level with me: this man was almost solely responsible for my entire class' sexual awakening.

Like okay, the song is sweet and dramatic. I would recommend listening to the whole thing. There's a cute and heart-breakingly sweet montage that shows you the meaning of the song. You can more or less get it without understanding the lyrics. It doesn't hurt that this amazing smile comes out at 1:27 and you will literally melt at the way he looks at her at 1:37.
It's the love you never knew you wanted.

You will begin to understand why this is my all-time favorite K-pop video at 1:56. It's Korean Magic Mike. The drama (and your orgasm) will start to build momentum at 2:24 but will really reach the climax at 3:20.

True story: that's when an entire room full of girls erupted in screams and raging hormones, clutching at each other for dear life and praying it would never end. It was the moment I grabbed my friend by the shoulders and yelled in her face "IM HAVING A STROKE!" It was amazing. One of those moments so glorious and chaotic, it can only happen once in a lifetime. One of the joys of being from an all-girls Catholic school is bonding over hormones and boy-craziness.

I hope you have as much fun watching the music videos as my friends and I did all those years ago.
Let me know what you thought by leaving a comment below, or upvoting if you feel like showing some looooove. ;)
Thanks for stopping by!

x Justine

Sort:  

Congratulations @justineangela! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @justineangela! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 61129.24
ETH 2376.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54