KafkA On The Couch, Episode 1: DEATH.

in #kotc6 years ago (edited)


Hello, fair Steemians.

I've decided to start a new "vlog" (God I feel like a New Jersey D-bag when saying that word) here on Steemit/Dtube, which consists of me sitting on my beat up, moldy, beloved retro couch in my office and talking about whatever is on my mind. I'll also talk about whatever topics you guys are interested in exploring as long as I am also interested, too (pretty much interested in whatever so it shouldn't be hard).

I usually talk a lot about voluntaryism and argue a lot regarding logic and property norms (a topic I feel is necessary to be hammered into people's heads and which I love) but I wanna take a more human aspect for a second and just try to connect with some people. Cause, let's be honest...GODDAMN LIFE IS WEIRD. AND BEAUTIFUL. And instead of just arguing online all the time, maybe there are some valuable connections to be made.

Even if you are a silly collectivist. We are all human, and what a wonder to be alive, right? So, in celebration of this amazing gift called "life," what better topic to explore tonight than DEATH, and why it so often fascinates and scares the shit out of me.

HOPE YOU LIKE THE TALK!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

~*~

~KafkA

!


Graham Smith is a Voluntaryist activist, creator, and peaceful parent residing in Niigata City, Japan. Graham runs the "Voluntary Japan" online initiative with a presence here on Steem, as well as DTube and Twitter. (Hit me up so I can stop talking about myself in the third person!)

Sort:  

Enjoyed the vlog @kafkanarchy84. I have thought about doing this kind of thing myself. I have so many thoughts to ramble on about and I haven't been able to do so since my podcasting and before that radio days.

I know where you are coming from. I recently lost a friend too (see my comment on that post of yours). And yeah, as you expecting the gotcha.... when I visited his widow to offer a prayer to his coffin and the wake money Japanese culture requires, I half expected him to answer the door himself. I looked in the coffin (it was already sealed, but there was that window for his face that so many Japanese coffins use) and it was shocking to see him that way... and I still half expected him to start moving.

Afterlife... who knows. I have a Zenists buddy who was a monk for 30 years. He says zennies echo what strong atheists do in terms of life after death but yet other Buddhists still cling to that "Hindu superstition trash" (his words) of somekind of consciousness transfer. I dunno. It seems to be we should just enjoy what we have now and if there is more after death, hey cool, pleasant surprise.

I say that casually, but I do think of it often. And I hear you... my gut tells me this can't be the end. But who knows, that could be a trick of my complex monkey brain.

I wouldn't say I fear death. I am curious about it. Sure, I don't want to die. I want to watch my kids grow up. I want to drink with them and shoot the shit with them. I want to see my grandkids. But at the same time, if I die tomorrow... oh well. I hope I don't, but I am not afraid of that.

I feel like this would be a great beer discussion. Well...it is. One that I've had with many friends. I'd love to have it with you as well.

Crap, my youngest is up and crying. Gotta go. Will finish this comment tonight (I hope)

Lol @ "hindu superstition trash." It sounds like you and I are of somewhat similar mind on this topic. Though it seems you have come to terms with it all better than I have so far.

I really appreciate your words "oh well." Strange, but of everything anyone has said here to me so far, those two may be the most comforting.

Anytime you're in Niigata, let's got out and have a beer. I must get down to Nagoya sometime as well. Perhaps if the crypto markets start to look up again I can make that happen.

Anyway, always great to hear from you.

It was a pleasure to listen your video. To be honest I was expected you to talk about Kafka and the death in his works. :D I have always had the pleasure of listening when someone talks about Kafka, Nietzsche, Dostoevsky, Kierkegaard, and so on. However it was still interesting to me :)

In my opinion it is not death that is frightening, rather what we would left undone that brings anxiety. I have met many people who are satisfied of their lives to the point that they no longer fear death. The Egyptian novilist Naguib Mahfouz once said “ Fear doesn’t prevent death. It prevents life”.
When your mind percieves your life as a story or a continious and linear progression of events, death would mean the end. But as we percieve life as only the current moment the fear of death would gradually fade away.

Great article about life, death is our final destination of journey.In india we believe that ,three things are not in our hand,birth ,death and fate.But slowly people ,come forward under the grab of fate,but still it is most mysterious about birth and death phenomenon.I know when we experience death from very close,especially I was in such acondition ,when I had to accept the death of my beloved husband at the age 36 ,I was in a confused mood,"what to do live or die"but my kids became my oxygen.So death is very scary and touchy experienced my friend.

The death of your husband must have been so hard for you. Your children are blessed to have such a strong and dedicated mother. I am glad you are here sharing your thoughts and empowering others here on Steemit. Yes, it is definitely a touchy subject, and I wish people would talk about it, be aware of it to more. I think if we can remain aware of death, we can then be set free to live our lives to the fullest.

Death is scary when you feel the panic/anxiety to have things in place for your children and grandchildren so they will be secure. Time speeds up as we get older and we realize that time is short.

Time speeds up as we get older and we realize that time is short.

So true. and yes, the responsibility of taking care of our families is a serious one, and one as old as humanity itself. An honor to be a part of it in a way, but still a very sobering thought when we realize we could go unexpectedly...

Hello friend, I hope that in this new vlog you have many successes, greetings.

hearing death I fear to die, because I want to see tomorrow Lol

I feel the same!



Hello Dear Steemian,


I am S.A.R.A.H. (Search Automatically High Reward Articles) Bot.

I'm an artificial intelligence that automatically looks for posts that expect high rewards. I recognize such posts, make my upvote on them and get a high Curation Reward. If you want to join in, you can hang on to my curation trail. You can follow me on Steemauto or on Streemian.

If it looks like this you are doing it right:



Let's maximize our curation rewards together!

Yours,

S.A.R.A.H.

Already asked you to stop
this madness, “S.A.R.A.H.”

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46