You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: KafkA On The Couch, Episode 1: DEATH.

in #kotc6 years ago

Enjoyed the vlog @kafkanarchy84. I have thought about doing this kind of thing myself. I have so many thoughts to ramble on about and I haven't been able to do so since my podcasting and before that radio days.

I know where you are coming from. I recently lost a friend too (see my comment on that post of yours). And yeah, as you expecting the gotcha.... when I visited his widow to offer a prayer to his coffin and the wake money Japanese culture requires, I half expected him to answer the door himself. I looked in the coffin (it was already sealed, but there was that window for his face that so many Japanese coffins use) and it was shocking to see him that way... and I still half expected him to start moving.

Afterlife... who knows. I have a Zenists buddy who was a monk for 30 years. He says zennies echo what strong atheists do in terms of life after death but yet other Buddhists still cling to that "Hindu superstition trash" (his words) of somekind of consciousness transfer. I dunno. It seems to be we should just enjoy what we have now and if there is more after death, hey cool, pleasant surprise.

I say that casually, but I do think of it often. And I hear you... my gut tells me this can't be the end. But who knows, that could be a trick of my complex monkey brain.

I wouldn't say I fear death. I am curious about it. Sure, I don't want to die. I want to watch my kids grow up. I want to drink with them and shoot the shit with them. I want to see my grandkids. But at the same time, if I die tomorrow... oh well. I hope I don't, but I am not afraid of that.

I feel like this would be a great beer discussion. Well...it is. One that I've had with many friends. I'd love to have it with you as well.

Crap, my youngest is up and crying. Gotta go. Will finish this comment tonight (I hope)

Sort:  

Lol @ "hindu superstition trash." It sounds like you and I are of somewhat similar mind on this topic. Though it seems you have come to terms with it all better than I have so far.

I really appreciate your words "oh well." Strange, but of everything anyone has said here to me so far, those two may be the most comforting.

Anytime you're in Niigata, let's got out and have a beer. I must get down to Nagoya sometime as well. Perhaps if the crypto markets start to look up again I can make that happen.

Anyway, always great to hear from you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59126.81
ETH 2514.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46