Kombucha brewing adventure! Let's talk SCOBYs

in #kombucha6 years ago (edited)

Kombucha Brewing: SCOBYs, Black Tea, Sugar and Time.

Kombucha - a sweet/sour fermented, bubbly drink made from tea, sugar and some kind of starter. You can order dried starts off the internet (they make a weaker Kombucha until a healthy SCOBY is grown) or you can get a starter SCOBY from someone who is already brewing. SCOBYs are constantly growing, and each batch creates a new layer.

Kombucha is sweeter when it hasn't brewed more than a week, and more vinegar/sour the longer it is brewed, around 20 days. It was first made in China over 2000 years ago and eventually spread into Russia and Eastern European regions. In the 1950's it was found in Northern Africa and France and now it has become popular in the United States. It really is a drink that is made around the globe. It contains a variety of probiotics and healthy gut bacteria, and since each brew is unique it's impossible to accurately say which ones are in a brew.

steemit-HR-01.png

I have been wanting to get back into brewing my own Kombucha at home, it is so much cheaper than buying it at the store. The problem is, you have to have a good SCOBY to get started. I had a friend come to visit and she was telling me about the Kombucha she was brewing, so I asked he for a SCOBY chunk the next time she had an extra. Two weeks later, I got two thin SCOBYs in a ziplock back, with some starter liquid. Thanks Bev!!

First, what is a SCOBY?


click to open image larger

Symbiotic
Culture
Of
Bacteria (acidic acid) &
Yeast

The SCOBY changes the polyphenols in the tea into helpful bacteria, which creates acidity and also prevents the growth of other harmful micro-organisms. It does this process by eating the sugar which then produces the bacteria.

steemit-HR-01.png

Getting Started

Here is the recipe I used:

  • 14 cups water
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 8 plain black tea bags (you can use green tea also)
  • SCOBY starter
  • 1-2 cups starter liquid from previous batch
  • one big-ass jar, pretty sure it fits a gallon

Steps:

1. Bring water to a boil, remove from heat.

2. Add sugar to water, mix until dissolved and then add tea bags.

3. Wait for water to cool to room temperature - this will take longer the more water you boil.

4. Add cooled, sweetened tea to jar and gently add SCOBY and starter liquid.

5. Cover with breathable lid (I used a cloth napkin) and secure with a rubber band.

6. Set somewhere to brew. Avoid cold locations and direct sunlight. The top of a refrigerator is a great place to brew because of the ambient heat near the ceiling.

steemit-HR-01.png

A few things to keep in mind

  • Make sure all your utensils are sterilized.
  • Avoid metal, unless it is stainless steal. According to people on the web, metal can change the taste of the brew, so it's best to avoid it.
  • Brew time should be anywhere from 7-20 days. Longer time = more vinegar taste.
  • If you are in doubt about if your SCOBY is growing wrong, do a google search. A healthy SCOBY ranges in color from light tan to brown and should not have fuzzy patches.
  • If in doubt, throw it out!

steemit-HR-01.png

Thanks for stopping by and reading about my brew. Have you ever made Kombucha? Post a pic of your current brew vessel, I'd love to see what people have going on!


Sort:  

I love kombucha! I have been doing continuous brew, (where you have a large jar fermenting, and daily you remove some for F2 and replace with tea), for a couple years now.
P1050352.jpg

That’s amazing! Do you keep using the same SCOBY or do you use a new ‘baby’ every so often?

Its the same scoby. It grows and grows. Whenever it gets big, like 3in thick, I pull it out, pour out the booch,
clean the jar, and rip about 1/2in of the scoby to put back, and pour the booch back in. I feed the rest of the scoby to the chickens. :) I do this probably every 4-6 months-ish, I think.

I really need to try that!

I'll have a new SCOBY baby in a week or so if you want to have it and try on your own, or I can let you try some first. ;)

Yes please!

@resteemator is a new bot casting votes for its followers. Follow @resteemator and vote this comment to increase your chance to be voted in the future!

I had some kombucha given to me three years ago.

I could never bring myself to drink it. I just got rid of it the other day.

I'm not sure it lasts that long anyway - probably best to get rid of it after three years. ;)
Try some store brands first and see if you like it, then you can try brewing if you enjoy it. It's much cheaper to brew it at home. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60205.00
ETH 2994.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90