Art of Knowing Yourself - Challenge by: Tamara

in #knowyourself6 years ago (edited)

KNOWING MYSELF
It's been a long time since I attempted to "Mentor the masses" I have 23 groups on Facebook I have founded and most of them kind of run themselves and I watch from a distance. But it wasn't always that way.

In 2010, my wife @bloghound and I were getting close in our relationship online and decided to do something together. We created our first online group with the purpose of helping people make online sales as well as developing relationships between buyers and sellers. We advertised people (wife still does) and we served as the middle men between buyer and seller disputes (mind you this was all for free). I also created a secret account called Scammer Buster and I literally went illegal vigilante against them. meaning, I broke the law like (cant remember his name Branson?) those days ended and we are where we are now still with 23 groups.

Here is the important part. I moved in the Philippines with $300 in my pocket and no job lined up and a very weak plan hoping that I could sell products (from where, I didn't know) to the members of our groups that trusted us. That worked for a bit, I sold (don't laugh) purses. My wife and I made very strong relationships with suppliers in town and would take pictures of purses, then post those pictures online with a little markup. People paid we would go, and buy the purses at a negotiated discount. That was our profit.

After / during that, I started doing Gcash loans which are bank card loans basically. That did well until a certain amount of people wouldn't pay back and it became a loss. Then I started teaching online for a new company in the Philippines (way underpaid and I had no clue). I taught 24 classes a day as well as managed the office. Things got weird due to me being a foreigner and I started teaching from home while still managing. In this time, I learned more about the business and how much I was getting screwed. Along with internet connection issues from home, I saw the writing on the wall and started making adjustments to start my own business. What I saw happening happened and I was fired for internet issues. This is where my business began. Fortunately I had the insight to know what was coming and was ready. That was 5 yrs ago. This year (roughly a month ago), I went back to the US to work as a regular company employee/building my own business. Long story short......

WHAT DID I LEARN?
Keep your whits up. I don't care if you have no money in your pocket. Be determined and doors will open! I have not worked for anyone for years. I have had my struggles, ups and downs. Living at the beach with an ocean view to working out of the equivalent of a cave. I'm earning more now than when I lived at the beach (in the Philippines) but my thought process is different now. Slow and steady.

END OF STORY. Have nothing means nothing! You still have heart! USE IT! $300 almost 7 years ago and I own my own business and still have plans for more businesses. NEVER count yourself out. NEVER! You are your best resource for success, just believe in yourself (more than anything, believe in God).

I may not be the biggest success story, but I'm married with a lovely daughter and we are not suffering because I never gave up. I'd like to thank my wife for not giving up on me.

Thank you for hosting this wonderful challenge @tamacvet and @smafey for tagging me in this post. Kudos! I nominate @fycee @wandrnrose7 and to join the challenge. Here's the challenge link: https://busy.org/@tamacvet/art-of-knowing-yourself-challenge

262202_228832470472224_7067415_n.jpg

SAM_1739.JPG

SAM_1736.JPG

(photos taken by my wife @bloghound )

vegasgamblerwilliam.gif

@vegasgambler 2018. All Rights Reserved.

Sort:  

I am in a similar situation, but living in India and about to have a daughter. I'm really trying to make money on my own online. It has been a struggle but much better than working a traditional job. :)

That was a wonderful story sir,may our God bless you and your family :-)

A strong will is all it takes. I want to get into entrepreneurship myself but am still on the fence of what I can offer people. Anyway, thanks for sharing your story.

Yep, never give up. Thank you @anthonioortizjr ! Do something you love!

Such a Beautiful story! Thank you for not giving up, you will always be a winner to everyone, and most of all to your family. Life is an endless lesson, steady and hang on. God bless you Sir. X

So many people move to the Philippines with all the blessings of retirement funds, social security, military pensions etc. That's great for them but it is not inspiring. I have met people who moved here with millions who ended up with nothing. Keep moving forward and forget God above all things. Thank you @sherylneil . God bless you too and your family.

And yes I have witnessed the part that we were all in the group when this web developer who scammed @vegasgambler - That's the start. We just stood there by you. We still have no clear idea what the business would be so we just let you do the follow up. I was kinda aware of the purse, The Trump and Obama feud haha and some really blasting issues that concern the world and all that. I would seldom join the thread though. It was like a friendship (hey man, how y'doing?) But then really sincere and genuine. Finally, you having to leave the Philippines is really sad, I was just like seeing it on my feeds but the only thing I could do is just click on the sad face on FB. Was also having issues with myself though. I will be creating my own later within 24 hours. Thank you for nominating me dadmin :)

I moved in the Philippines as a nobody. I am still a nobody. I'm just a nobody who wont stop pushing. Don't stop pushing is my message. I don't care how unrealistic things may seem... keep pushing. Thank you @fycee for all the support.

This one is one of the most inspirational I've read!
I love that everyone is taking up on the challenge differently, and personalities come up in the text.

I'm humbled. Thank you, Tamara!

That's the spirit everyone needs, @vegasgambler. Giving up won't make us a victor and only those who keep going reaches the finish line called success. You're right to say that we are the best resources of our success. Life is a journey of battles and choices we need to face. God bless your family!😀

Have faith in yourself, have faith in God. You will reach your goals. Thank you @jap60 you too!

your relationship with Jerryl is a match made in heaven. Stay blessed and your story is very inspiring <3

Thank you, Bhargavi.
Btw, I heard you're doing great on Steemit! Way to go!

Hahahaha! Gotcha! ^_^

You are so lucky to have sis @bloghound as your wife. Keep the love.

Life is full of uncertainties but keep fighting sir, you have your 2 angels backing you up. I know things will be better in Gods time.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58695.71
ETH 2633.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49