You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Lorna Hamilton-Brown: Knitting the Blues, Knitting in Jamaica

in #knitting5 years ago

I first stumbled over Lorna Hamiltons work because of her catchy Yarnarella costume. I love the photography: not only is especially the wig impressing, I also love how the photographer caught Lorna’s expression. I interpret it as something between being amused, absorbed and knowing a secret.
This fascinated me and I wanted to know more and have to admit that before I researched her have never heard of the tale that black people do not knit. After reading of this “single story” (in regard to Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie), my attention changed and I suddenly saw how seldom POC were featured in magazines or on Ravelry.
Still I know near to nothing about the knitting/crochet culture of for example Jamaica, so thank you for pointing me in this direction.

Sort:  

I'm glad you enjoyed the post and Lorna's work led you into new directions. That's one of the things I enjoy about Steem, you find yourself drawn into things that you hadn't thought about before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58391.36
ETH 2348.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36