Where Are All the Fiber Artists?

in #knitting6 years ago (edited)

I've been paddling around the Steemit Ocean, searching for inspiration. It's perturbing that the needle arts are so poorly represented. Where are all the fiber artists? The eyecandy? The loving handycrafters? The insanely creative peeps?? I know you're out there....." I have a very special skill set." I will find you and I will resteem you!

In a nutshell I am a thrifty, crafty, fiber artist, mad soaper, kayak nut, birder, photo bug, astronomy freak, geocaching homemaker with a strange sense of humor who collects owls. As busy as that sounds, I have less opportunity lately to engage in my passions for more than snippets of time. I'm taking my time back!

My hope is to create a fiber arts curration. That being said I have much to learn about Steemit, getting involved, and creating good karma. I hope you'll follow my journey.

Now on to the main attraction:

Since the 90's I've witnessed the growth of Fiber Artists' online communities. Over the years people come and go but some remain in your heart. Once such lady was Mary Ann Beatty or "Queen Kahuna", queen of the "two at a time, toe-up socks." She was a kind, intelligent person who self-published "Crazy Toes and Heels." IMHO this book is the definitive guide to making beautiful socks. Sadly Queen Kahuna is no longer with us so finding a copy of the book may not be easy.

crazytoes.jpg

Making socks is an art form. There are so many techniques to master and choices to make. "What type of toe do I want?" (I don't know about you but I like Judy's magic toe cast-on. If you aren't familiar with it just google it. You will find many articles and videos to teach you.) "What type of heel?" "How do I want my gussets to look?" "Intricate or plain foot?" If you don't already surf http://ravelry.com go over there and join up. It's a free community with more patterns then you could imagine. Surf around and drool over the hundreds of patterns.

socks.jpg

On top of the construction decisions there is what fiber to use? The choices are immense! Did someone say Alpaca?? I have not yet made Aplaca socks but it is definitely on my list. Oh I can just imagine slipping my foot into a perfectly fit, soft cloud of a sock.

I think the most important steps to create socks successfully are to MEASURE your foot and knit the SWATCH. It's important to be accurate. Find a "sock bible" that resonates with you and work your way through it. After that you can play with so many techniques you'll be knitting socks until your drawers are full.

Sort:  

Oh, wow, @artemisnorth. Those socks are going to look too cute to wear!

Thanks for your kind words! I'll have to post a pic when they are done.

You might look for the tag #needleworkmonday to find a few more fiber artists. We tend to do monday work in progress posts and are an eclectic community. Welcome! Someday I need to try that knitting technique. :)

THANK YOU!!!! I had to find the eyecandy. What an awesome community. Are you on Discord?

I am not but several of them are, look for all the posts tomorrow with that tag!

Whoa those are tiny needles! I love to knit. But not tiny stuff like that. I'm way too impatient. LOL

Hello @artemisnorth... I have crocheted socks and struggled to get the two looking the same so I admire anyone that can 🌷
I wonder whether you can just add another tag #needleworkmonday as @jamethiel suggests. I notice that you're only using two tags so perhaps you're not so visible / easy to find 🌷 🌷

I'm fairly new to Steem. Is "needleworkmondays just used on Monday's or for any needle work posts?

Hello @artemisnorth...
I'm also fairly new, but the idea is that you get more easily found if you use the tags which attract people interested in the topic you're trying to promote. If you post on other days and use the same tag you will still be found on the right day.
All the best

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60666.25
ETH 2702.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43