KLYE COMIC #9 - "Even The Sheriff Sometimes Jumps The Gun"

in #klyeart8 years ago (edited)

Man.. I feel like a friggin' d**khead after going back over everything the past day.

My lack of understanding on a current hot topic mixed with my passion to ensure the future survival of our STEEM network ended up getting the wires all crossed in my brain unit..

Introspection to Debug Myself

I'm embarrassed to admit that I lashed out against @dantheman in previous posts...

Frankly he didn't deserve the brunt of the fury and asshattery unleashed on him nor is it my place to question him taking payouts from the reward pool. For all I know he could be using those funds to build us our own island one day. At the end of the day I'd be a hypocrite if I expected him to post without pay. Regardless of if you're extremely well off financially or broke it's your basic human right as a STEEM user to choose any payout schema.

I was completely out of line making that post insinuating you had enough money and shouldn't feel the need to dip into the reward pool. It would be not only discriminatory but downright asinine to expect the man who dug the well to not drink from it.

That is essentially what I did looking back and I never meant to oppress your rights.
I do NOT stand for oppression of anyone, regardless of my previous actions.

To top off the icing on my asshat cake... Not only was I going off on a tangent about a completely different system than what Dan had actually proposed but I'd also forgotten the fact that we are all on the same team. I've no valid excuse for my actions.

Misplaced Anger Turns Into Sadness

I acted reactively and without complete understanding.. Please forgive me @dantheman not only for wrongly demonizing you but also for not taking my concerns up with you in a more civilized matter before blowing up things to points where they simply didn't need to go.

I lost some face today, embarrassed myself thoroughly and also learned I need to be far more patient and understanding with matters I don't understand fully before I go into beast mode.

Sorry to @dantheman / STEEM and anyone else who was affected by my misguided rantings.

I'm still very much growing into the role of STEEM Sheriff I created for myself. Give me time.

Sort:  

It's not easy to write a post like this, but it shows something of your character to get your apology out here publicly. We all live and learn! Steem on!

I needed to clear the air as well as express how I felt after i had time to go over everything... I still feel like a tool but at least maybe Dan sees this and perhaps forgives me for my lapse of proper judgement.

I'm sure getting paid to do it makes it much easier; some here on Steemit make as much as a grand giving half ass apologies they don't even mean.

I catch hell for posting a link and not disabling payout; should posting apologies after abusing fellow Steemians not also be subjected to that same Steemit scrutiny? ;)

The $4 I recieved from this post didn't even cover the time I spent writing it tuck.

Berating me on trying to be a decent human being is kinda asshattish dude. Cmon.

Posting a link is fine, Look at the post above this one on my blog on how to do it correctly.

If you consider that being "berated" then you need to hang out with the abusive viking more and "thicken up your skin". ;)

I'm sorry you took offense to me expressing my disdain for people making money off verbally abusing others. I'll try to do better. ;)

I think my favourite part about this is you claim to be anti-bully yet here you are..

A bit of forgiveness goes a long way tuck. I don't claim to be a perfect person nor do I even pretend to be.. But you coming in and spreading your "holier-than-thou" shit on a post that really at the end of the day is me trying to make amends makes you look like an asshat. For lack of a better term.

Cool story bro.

I'll always tip my hat to someone who has the courage to apologise for their mistake especially when a public apology is called for.
If Dan can take the time to talk to you, work through the problem and move on then it would be silly of us to hold it against you.

I can't really think of a time in my life where I've learned so many life lessons so close together than since I've joined STEEM..

Not sure what factors seem to cause this.. no other social media site's ever been able to positively effect my life like STEEM has, that's not even referring to any of the money bonus stuff either!

I can understand that it's had a dramatic effect on me to, i've spent a long time trying to put my life back together while living with a scarcity mindset through nescessity the last 3 years have been spent trying to break that mindset and plan for the future. steemit as helped me break through that and begin activily taking steps to improve my situation. 5 months ago I never thought i'd be able to start down the path we were discussing earlier. I'm a long way from where i want or need to be but i finally found the path.

I'm glad to hear the platform has had a positive spin in your life.

I think that may be part of the reason I get defensive of STEEM..
It's helped me so much I almost feel obligated by honor to help it now.

Sometimes I go about it the wrong way but I think overall I mean good. :/

I'm sure he didn't take it personally. We all go too far sometimes. I can be a real hothead - it is best to apologise and put it behind you.

I think there is nothing wrong with Dan and Ned posting their views on here but it might look bad to outsiders if they get very high rewards for those posts.

This is simply because they already have such a huge amount of SP that nobody else is ever even likely to catch up with them - they simply don't need it.

I have noted that Ned now always declines payouts on his posts and I think that looks good for Steemit.

Perhaps you went about saying it in a harsh way but your heart is in the right place as you were looking out for the whole platform. That helps us all including Dan.

Eh.. I still can't help but feel I've a ways to go as a human being in regards to getting to the core of myself and trying to understand why I react in such ways under certain situations.

I think what I'm most disappointed in myself about is that I was unable to see I was being a dictator and setting the rules in dan's sandbox. I did have the whole hearted intentions of protecting the network but in doing so neglected Dan's rights.. That is what I feel crappiest about.

Then to have him actually switch to no payout posts.. I sort of feel that I sort of failed in all aspects of what I'd initially thought was something mandatory to help protect our network from being exploited.. I just ended up exploiting Dan instead and coming off as a complete clown afterwards. :/

I'm sure he will be fine. I suspect he would have switched to non- paying posts anyway. You have apologised and that is all you can do. We will all be horrible to each other from time to time it is just the way of things.

@klye I feel like I learned from your comment on dan's post. Here's some of my reflection on this.

@abit ask why I didn't vote on a post I love very much that @dantheman did. Here's what was my answer to @abit's pertinent question.

I voted now. I came back here to vote and saw your comment.

I did vote only with 1% and I'm thinking about making those kind of votes on post I recognized as important but who might not necessarily need more $ or who don't accept monetary reward.

It's tricky because I wouldn't want other place for this post other than all the way up to the top of today's post. This is so because I feel like this post deserve more visibility than any other post made today and that I feel everyone would gain from understanding this post. So I'm thinking I might be voting with 100% power in similar situation in the future taking in consideration post's visibility and other factors.

Now all thing reconsidered, I feel like, as time pass, it will be made clear that everyone will gain from making sure to read what big Steem shareholders are publishing so visibility might not be such an issue. We'll see.

Steem is so full of dynamics I am not habituated to. I'm learning everyday.

And thank you for this post. I love it!

https://steemit.com/basicincome/@dantheman/what-would-a-legitimate-basic-income-buy#@teamsteem/re-abit-re-dantheman-re-teamsteem-re-dantheman-what-would-a-legitimate-basic-income-buy-20161114t032335102z

<3 A fellow Canadian Steemster whom I believe is here for the greater good.

Power to you TeamSteem. You are awesome dude.

Hey sheriff, just don't jump the gun too often. You gonna lose followers and supporters. As long as your posts help to platform it's OK, but really : don't go too far too often.
My gut feeling tell me that maybe your real target or targets are in Amst.....right now.

My emotions and lack of understanding clouded my judgement and decision making abilities... Rookie move .

I don't go out of my way to target people on purpose.. I'm merely here as a servant trying to protect what's in the best interest for the network. I've got nothing but respect for Dan for actually sitting down for a moment and explaining his system to me in KLYE sized words so I could grasp the concept.. This was after I was such a knob to him.. Made me do a serious self check and I realized I was being an oppressive bigot to a man that helped create the system I was protecting.. Big self WTF moment.

Thanks for the pep talk oldtimer.. I needed that.

No problem. We not gonna be to harsh on you. Like you said before : you an artist.

We are sort of a volatile and passionate build.. Still no excuse for how I handled things.

Klye, you mention that he explained in KLYE sized words. I don't see that he actually responded to your article. You raised questions to him. Did you get answers?

I actually went onto his latest basic income post to get more info on it.

Yeah, This was after the whole Cookie Jar post as well.. He replied to me and didn't even call me a dickhead (which I thoroughly deserved).. Really got to me that even after I'd went off like that he still treated me with dignity and took time out of his day to explain his model to me..

Dan is the man.

And...you raised questions that, I think, deserve direct response and dialogue. Don't hammer yourself for being a loud, perhaps at times insulting voice, because the essence of what you shared raises important questions. And I think you and the community deserve dialogue about it. Otherwise, I anticipate the issues will raise their head again down the line, and so too will your frustration.

Certainly the first steps in these kind of interpersonal situations would be to reach out in private and attempt direct communication. If you are ignored, or the dialogue fails, then it's the right thing to do to bring it to the community.

Taking time out of his day to explain his recent article is not the same as giving you the respect of , "Hey, I hear you. Let's dialogue about your feedback."

I do think Dan avoided the questions for now on purpose but frankly I don't blame him. I touched on a number of concerns I'm hearing from the community but I'll wait until it's a more appropriate time and mood to start asking questions like that.

It certainly should not be done in the fashion I did it..

Agreed spark. Thanks for the advice. :)

we are all on the same team.

Right on - I couldn't agree more. There are tons of people and opinions that I fundamentally disagree with here, but if you look beneath the surface most people are doing the best they can to make this place the Steemit of their dreams.

All the negativity recently had really gotten me down, and had me starting to worry about our future. After reading your post where you are trying to make amends and get back to being on "the same side" again, I have newfound hope for the future of Steemit.

Cheers Tim.

Glad my failures as STEEM Sheriff today atleast gave you a glimpse of hope.
I'm probably going to don a dunce cap mentally for a bit. Gosh I feel like a Dumbass

You were doing what you felt was right out of good intentions at the time, and then you issued an apology when you realized that it was a mistake. All is good in my book. Thanks for turning it around.

Write your rants, it's a good release. Step away. Don't hit send. Read it the next day. Edit. Step away. Come back. Read it.

Give yourself a chance to see yourself from different angles and mindsets. My rants either end up on Facebook, or the junk pile... unless it's frickin hilarious.

Interesting concept... Would certainly save me feeling terrible later from things posted in the heat of the moment.

Thank you for sharing your process. Appreciated.

Also? What's facebook? Sounds stupid. :D

Hope it helps. Don't beat yourself up too bad. Shit happens.

It is always good (and healthy) to ask questions. Okay this time, the form may have ben a bit rude this time, but I do not see the problem of asking the question. In the same way, a rude answer would have been as acceptable too (note that I have never seen the answer from Dan; I can only imagine what it was / would have been).

Need to work on keeping my emotions and passion out of my writings when they have no place to be there.

I'm a terrible politician, communicator and person at times.. still feel like crap about this whole thing.

Need more practice ? :D

Only at everything I do in order to master it I guess.. ;)

This post has been ranked within the top 10 most undervalued posts in the first half of Nov 14. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $37.22 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Nov 14 - Part I. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

This post has been linked to from another place on Steem.

Learn more about and upvote to support linkback bot v0.5. Flag this comment if you don't want the bot to continue posting linkbacks for your posts.

Built by @ontofractal

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 64349.20
ETH 2673.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.83