Mum's Kitchen

in #kitchen6 years ago

Mum's Kitchen!

I think this is one of the last times I ever made Jelly with my mom? All things kitchen, oh, definitely... they come from my mom. My earliest memories of learning to cook come from being at my mom's side, and my Yia Yia's side. watching them work. Working dough. Rolling things, making desserts. Chopping sausage. Cooking pasta sauces. Not positive, but, I believe one of the first things I made on my own, was a pasta sauce

After The storm!


This shot, of my mom, later in life, is one of the last, in her kitchen. We clearly just finished making Beach Plum Jelly. In the foreground, I see the large strainer, and it's wooden reamer, for when I crush the beach plums. large pot, drying for boiling off the juices and pulp. White plastic reamer, I always squeeze a bit of lemon and orange in the beach plum when making it. Measuring cup for adding a touch of sugar! On the stove, to my mom's left, is the large pot I use for cooking lobsters, normally, but in this case, used for boiling water and sterilizing the Ball Jars®

On the cutting board, mom's left hand, is a dozen or more jars of the Beach Plum Jelly.
I cling to it!

Mom's Kitchen


As I look back, there are dozens and dozens of images on Steemit I've posted about recipes or mom, in this kitchen. I wonder why, I always seem to shoot the images from this same spot? Is it the place with the best vantage, or is it when I stood and watched the goings on? Who knows? But I do enjoy the images!

This memory. Mom's too fragile to travel back there. I feel like I can sense her, when I am cooking there. ...and I cherish this. ...and it's nothing to do with my favorite jelly!




...Mom's Kitchen

Geeky Camera Stuff:
Nikon d7000, 21mm, f7.1, 1/200th, Adobe Lightroom and Photoshop

Be Merry. Do good. Don't be an JackAss.

thealliance_468x60.jpg

Small Welcome Wagon.png

bluefinstudios_red.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 1500 replies. Your next target is to reach 1750 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

what a beautiful way to preserve memories. Not just the photo but all the details and thoughts that go along with. Nothing is more precious

I felt this so much @bluefinstudios. I miss my mum too. Apple and blackberry pies the most, and her singing with flour on her pinny.

Thank you, it was a lovely memory. x

actually, I remember mom giving me a sponge and saying go wipe that counter, and it was covered in flour and all I was doing was making a doughy mess!
she was giggling

Next time, sweep it all off with a dry cloth... sorry honey... it was funny!

Congratulations @bluefinstudios! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 12000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 13000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

This is the loveliest post :)

I never met your mom - but I love your mom so much! hehehehe I can just imagine that she is all the best of you and where you get your sensitivity, humor, and care for others

loved this post!

She's the best
...and yes. a strong sense of humor, from mom.

Some days, there's still that gleam in her eye and the glimmer of whit firing out

great read :) this post has
been selected for the upcoming curation newsletter

Oh, many thanks!
So many memories of mom in there.

This is a wonderful reminiscence and a great tribute to your Mom! Love it when you post stories like this, in addition to the photos! 😊

thanks KittyG!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49