Kill the Pad Entry- Dreamy Steem/ Songwriting Freewrite Experiment

in #killthepad6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the "KILL THE PAD" CHALLENGE! WEEK #2 - SPONSORED BY STEEM MUSIC ALLIANCE, hosted by @jamesgetsit. This week’s challenge is to write a rap about Steem. You don’t not have to sing the rap, record, or put music to the verses. The point is to kill the pad by writing.

Imgur
Artwork by @scuzzy


Imgur


I am also using this opportunity to experiment with the Songwriting Freewrite I thought up.

I write in the #freewrite here on Steemit, and the idea behind the freewrite is to begin writing freely and write non-stop for 5 minutes without looking back or editing as you go.

When I write songs. I write the first few lines, and then go back to the beginning again. I do this over and over until I complete the song. This does help with memorization of the words and melody because I sing it so many times, but it does not help with fast writing, or writer’s block.

My idea is to incorporate the freewriting concept with the songwriting process and then use the freewrite prompts to write lyrics. Before I could ask others to try this method I had to test it out to see if it was possible. This week’s Kill the Pad Challenge worked out using the songwriting freewrite better than I expected.

I had already written the first verses without the freewrite, but I needed more to the song. I set my timer to 5 minutes, and I wrote the last half of the entry. I had it in my mind that I would need to rhyme the words to make it sound like a rap, and that the topic, or prompt was Steem. I did need to go back and make a few words fit, but I kept most of the rap as it was written in the 5 minutes.

(I wrote the songwriting freewrite in pen, instead of typing. I think this made it easier and helped me to write more lines.)


Imgur


Dreamy Steem @simgirl
(Pre-written Verse)

I’m stacking Steem like my magazines; I’m cashing in with my whale votes.
Got another habit, like I was addict; Yeah, but this one pays though.
I’m sitting all breezy; getting all Steemy; watching my wallet two-fold
Heading to my bank roll, picking out lambos. See me chowing on profits like I’m eating tacos.
Dam! Watch me gather follows and upvotes. No telling where this platform could take me.
One day I’ll be sitting thinking like, I barely remember how I ever got to be the VIP. So,
Upvote this post if you’re feeling me. Take notes if you want to get the dreamy Steem.
Ignore fools debating history. Get you some SBD, be part of the Steem Legacy.

Where’s Steem Going? Where, where the Steem going?
Going to the moon, go, go, going to the moon. (x4)

(Songwriting Freewrite)

Take your slack to the facts; watch me flow through the cracks.
I’m on the Steem elevator; and I ain’t coming back.
Show me the love you got stored, like jarred up beans in the pantry
If you can't be freely breezy, you need to get in the Steem factory.
Go on and fill your cup; so, it’s flowing like a fountain.
You see me climbing up; I’ll wave at the top of the mountain.
Never felt higher; flying with the Steem I’m on
See I’m known around the block-chain as the bomb.com
Cause I’m explosive like tannerite; more deadly than a surgeon’s knife.
I’m telling you the truth, you better buckle up and hold on tight.
This Steem is making, breaking, taking, shaking history
You need to board this rocket, before it leaves and picks up speed.

Where’s Steem Going? Where, where the Steem going?
Going to the moon, go, go, going to the moon. (x4)


Imgur


follower postsimgirl reputation sp

Made by @albertvhons

Simgirlbanner Made by @son-of-satire

wit-list-trans

hr2

pal-sig-anim-trans

hr2

TGP_Light_Banner.jpg

Imgur

Imgur

Imgur

Sort:  

OMG YOU AMAZE me every day!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

YOU HAVE to find someone to sing this!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

HAVE TO!!!!!!

ha ha I love that bitmoji. Thank you!!!

Yooooooo!

You showed out on this one for sure. Some great bars in here

I’m stacking Steem like my magazines; I’m cashing in with my whale votes.

Right out the gate. Nice.

Cause I’m explosive like tannerite; more deadly than a surgeon’s knife.

Another great bar.

You were doing some cool rhyme schemes with the 2 multis in the bar leading up to the end rhyme, and that's cool. It's fun to experiment with this type of stuff.

There were some poorly situated end rhymes.

Dam! Watch me gather follows and upvotes. No telling where this platform could take me.
One day I’ll be sitting thinking like, I barely remember how I ever got to be the VIP. So,

Could Take Me / VIP... Single syllable end rhymes can come off too simple and childish. Try making the rhymes be at least 2 syllables, obviously this doesn't have to be the case all the time, but it makes for good practice.

Content was cool, really showin out. I dig it, really good job!

Awesome! Thank you!!!

Awesome!! You did amazing killing that pad!! haha!

My favorite line for sure:

I’m sitting all breezy; getting all Steemy; watching my wallet two-fold

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 63997.36
ETH 3133.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15