Kill The Pad - Week 3 - Freedom (Let Me Go)

in #killthepad6 years ago (edited)

Freedom (Let Me Go)
By Dan Shaw

There's no explanation as to why I turned my back, ran away, everything changed
Fear & doubt clouded my once clear mind, leaving me desperately searching for some kind of a sign
Afraid to feel, yearning for something real, inside the arms of a merciless ordeal
Captured, blinded by all that I enraptured
It was always the sensations, bitter sweet abbreviations
My soul is in agony, no longer can I prolong this tragedy - let me go

I’m feeling rundown, weary eyed and bruised from the core
I’m trying so desperately to keep my head above water, whilst you watch me from the shore
Trying not to drown in the subliminal void within the void
The constant ringing tune that I'd define as noise

Soul as black as the ash I breath into my lungs
The words are harsh when they roll off my tongue
I'm frightened, as the unknown can be so cold
Yet the stories I tell have grown so old, nothing left to unfold

I'm so alone, yet I feel so whole
Let me go
You no longer have control
I am my own
Oh, I am my own

Passion has faded like the sun from the winter sky
There is or no longer will be
You and I

Forever lost, bellowing in the wind
I leave you there, suffering in your own sins

I'm so alone, yet I feel so whole
Let me go, you no longer have control
I am my own

Thoughts of ambiguity which cloud the sky
Where do I belong and how can I find
A way to fill this blank page in my mind

I'm so alone, yet I feel so whole
Let me go, you no longer have control
I am my own

Side Note

I thought a lot about the meaning of freedom and how many different historical events it could relate back to. But tonight, I felt like telling my own story of freedom.

So many of us try to escape a void inside of us, a darkness that us light seekers do not wish to reveal. We try and run from our problems thinking that we will become free once we are rid of external factors in our lives. Yet what we fail to realise is that no matter how far we run, we carry our problems with us and the only way to be free of them is to fix ourselves internally, to make ourselves whole.

Sort:  

Soul as black as the ash I breath into my lungs
The words are harsh when they roll off my tongue
I'm frightened, as the unknown can be so cold
Yet the stories I tell have grown so old, nothing left to unfold

That was dope. Really flowed well. Your imagery is on another level, and I love it. Only thing I would caution is that your bars are really over extended, so unless you can flow like twista or busta rhymes, I'd say you want to shorten up your bar structure throughout the verse to make it closer resemble what I quoted above.

Really dope! Thanks for participating!

Thanks man, will try again next time :)

Great view bro

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69300.96
ETH 3785.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68