A Story of Survival. We Lost Power, Internet and Cable on Christmas 😱

in #killorbekilled7 years ago (edited)

recent-car-crash-survivor-les-survivorman-stroud-thinks-other-reality-stars-are-bullshit-body-image-1443450553.jpg
Credit: Vice

Happy Boxing Day friends, I'm now back home in the city after spending a couple days at the in-laws for Christmas. They live in a tiny community on the eastern shore of Nova Scotia Canada. It's a quiet fishing town with a population of about 500 people, really rural.

Things were going pretty well I guess, we woke up and opened our gifts on Christmas morning, then we had the turkey dinner feast and visited with friends.

Then the unthinkable happened..

A storm came and brought with it 150 km winds.

Trees were blowing down everywhere, blocking roads, taking down power lines and ripping shingles right off of the rooves of homes all around Nova Scotia.

As I type this there are still thousands of people without power. At the height of the storm last night over 60,000 households lost their electricity.

Down where we were along the coast I think it was worse than the mainland..

Around 4 pm we lost internet and cable! Omfg I couldn't get on Steemit 😨 I kept checking in to see if the service would come back but to no avail. Then a couple hours later we finally lost power too. Fuck no!!!

We take all our amenities for granted.

Things got real bad! With no internet, cable or power the wife's folks went to bed early and my better half convinced me to play card games for hours.

It was awful!

I wanted to surf the net and she wanted to play her stupid Kardashian game on the iPad but there we were.. talking and communicating with eachother over Crazy 8's like the pioneers did 25 years ago.

Sitting by candle light in our apocoliptic like state I had thoughts of grabbing a rifle, shotgun and ammo from the gun cabinet and going to shoot the neighbors and take their supplies

rick.jpg
Credit: AMC

But then I got sleepy and just went to bed..

We just got back to Halifax now, upon arriving I immediately noticed we had power, after plugging in the computer and modem I was relieved to finally have the internet again too!

Thank you Jesus it's a Christmas miracle!

Alot of the surrounding area is still without such essential services so we feel lucky to resume our normal activities again.

So here I am, finally creating a post for my friends on Steemit. I missed you dearly and I may never return to that eastern hellhole named Jeddore ever again!

I hope you all had a fantastic and less traumatic Christmas that we did. We're lucky to have made it out alive but maybe we're better off for it?

Thanks for reading,

@goldenarms

U5drXbkie6zPRb5oB7BRTdSUeewiCTW_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I lost my phone in September this year. It was hell. I totally understand you

I’m a glad you survived such a harrowing ordeal!! It's good to know humanity can still show great resilience! 🤣

It got iffy there for a bit but we pulled through 😎

Or, you know, you could have just had sex XD. Dark winters is the perfect time to exchange body heat wink

Naw she wanted to be respectful in her parents home. Don't think I didn't try! lol That was when I had thoughts of going to pillage the surrounding community

Hahahaha, I see, now I get why you recall it as such an ordeal. Welp, you could try again in your own house by unplugging the modem, geheheheh

Women just don't understand how people become parents.

Men always love the risk of doing it in their/her folks' home. What is with that? Is it a Bad Boy thing?

Speaking from personal experience We just like to do it and don't much care where.

You unplugged your computer and modem when you left for a short trip to your in-laws?

Did you unplug the refrigerator too? Be careful. Those things are known to be runners!! 🙂

Gone for 3 days. Wife's anxiety makes her unplug everything except the fridge

I'm glad you are safe, that must have been a scary experience. That really is a reminder of how vulnerable we are without internet and power.
Hope you are having a great Christmas and stay safe my friend 🤗

I keep a list of vegetarians for such emergencies I imagine they will taste better;]

Lol yeah you're probably right about that 🍖 😁

smiles. I know how frustrating it could be to lose Internet and power supply at the same time. I experienced that recently too when i traveled to my hometown. I could not browse for days until I subscribed to another service provider for my internet. It was like the world has come to an end when i couldn't access the internet. Hope you had a lovely Christmas anyways? #OWB

Same here! It's really terrible. The internet issue especially.

In recent times, I doubt if I can survive without the internet. I feel empty and uneasy when I'm unable to connect to the world hahaha. I'm sure many people here can relate to this. Yeah?

I thought same, until I lost my phone and moved back to the stone age

LOL. We existed and survived before the introduction of technology. That's true tho

Wow nice post

oh you poor person you. I remember so vividly the Christmas of 2013. Toronto was hit with a cold snap and a snow storm and an Ice Storm. Trees snapped and powerlines snapped and pipes burst. Some people were without power for 7 days. On December 27 having to return to work I drove 20K out of my way to purchase gas. I lined up for an hour. The grocery stores were all without power and god forbid the pizza joint. Now I live partially offgrid on the South Shore of Nova Scotia and when the power goes out. aha...I have a wood stove and a generator and a pantry full of food...Pretty sure though this is worth a Resteem.

You have received an upvote from STAX. Thanks for being a member of the #steemsilvergold community and opting in (if you wish to be removed please follow the link). Please continue to support each other in this great community. To learn more about the #steemsilvergold community and STAX, check this out.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58389.55
ETH 2482.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38