ALMOST... ALMOST (An Original Poetry)

in #killerpoetry6 years ago (edited)
Image Source

Almost --
A word full of promises and regrets;
A heavy burden lodged in my chest;
A surge of emotions to nurture until death;
A fairy tale that will always hold my breath.

"It almost happened..."
"We were almost happy..."
It was a welcome dead-end
That should've killed me.

Instead, it haunts me in my slumber --
With the things I did and didn't do
It's a torture to even just remember
That once upon a time, I almost had you.

And I bleed every single day
For you -- and all that we almost had
It is my heart that I cannot betray
Because it still wants you so bad...

And I can't help but live in despair
As I mourn for my unburied guilt
Your voice echoes from everywhere --
From above and underneath.

I pretend not to hear,
But it pierced right through my head,
Whispering right into my ear,


"I almost lived."

"I almost lived."



Hello everyone! I hope you enjoyed reading this piece that I wrote today for Rumplestiltskin's Killer 📖Poetry💻Contest - Round 12. It was supposed to be a romantic poem but idk. 😂😂😂 But anyways, hope you guys have a good one. And don't forget to smile!😀❤


Lovelots!


Sort:  

Oh my this is beautiful! I have read it through a good few times and it could be about so many things. At first I felt like it was about love, but on reflection it could just as much be about death, loss and the life almost lived. The beauty of this poem is like that cut gems, with many faceted faces each reflecting back a slightly different world, depending on how you look at it.

Thank you so much for reading @calluna. To be honest, I have no idea how it ended up like that. hahahaha! But I love it when the readers create their own interpretation based on their imagination. It inspires me to write more.😅 I am very flattered to receive praises from someone who writes incredible pieces herself. You don't know how much it means to me. Thank you so much! 😘😁

I think I'll be quite puzzled if you don't win this round!
It does what I find all good art does, it evokes emotion with each poignant line. And as always I love those with a darker tinge to them!

wow! Thank you @themadrunnah! I have strong competition as well. and whoever wins it is very much deserving. But I'm glad you liked my poem. 😀 That's a win for me. Have a good one!

That space between almost and not, yet. Deep and rich with emotion. Peace and Love and Liberty.

Thank you for reading @platosgroove. 😀 I'm glad you liked it! Cheers!

Good to meet you

Likewise. Happy New Year!

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @lyxng to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 63343.26
ETH 3484.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53