You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Music in my Soul: Up a Tree in New Orleans

in #killerpix6 years ago

I have never visited New Orleans, but I can just imagine how 🎼 is in your soul when you live there. Great story! Your parents likely had mixed feelings about moving. We love the beach, but dodging hurricanes is a pain here in Florida too!

I’m also American and Canadian, but naturalized to both countries. I also hold a British passport because that is my country of origin! Really confuses people! Lol!

Sort:  

Oh neat! I think we're all citizens of the world, but I'm always impressed to find people with multiple passports and places they call home.

Yes, it was really hard for my parents to pick up and leave New Orleans. They actually lived in the house my mom grew up in, with the same neighbours on either side as when she was a kid! So they left behind a lot of community, but they were done boarding up the windows every summer and trying to figure out where to evacuate with two cats. I still hope to go back and visit. Florida is beautiful, too, but I imagine anyone in the south-east is feeling the pressure to consider other options, especially after this past season! My heart goes out to Puerto Rico and so many other places that have a long way to go to rebuild.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.030
BTC 60756.34
ETH 3373.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51