KILLERPIX MAY FLOWERS

in #killerpix6 years ago (edited)

The Spanish explorer, Ponce de Leon was searching for the Fountain of Youth on April 2nd 1513 when he came ashore a few miles south of my home, and named our peninsula (which he thought was an island) La Florida which means Land Of Flowers.

Different flowers bloom in Florida all year round, but my favorite month is May when the native southern magnolia or magnolia grandiflora is in bloom high in the magnolia trees! The flowers can measure up to 10” in diameter, and are perfectly contrasted against the very dark green leathery leaves. It is hard to describe the heavenly perfume of these flowers, but I can only describe it as a cross between lemon and citronella.

magnolia grandiflora.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Click on the image to view full screen!


CameraEOS 5D Mark II
Lens100-400mm F5-6.3 DG OS HSM | Contemporary
Exposure1/400 sec; f/18; ISO 800
Post-processingAdobe® Photoshop CC 2018, Adobe® Camera Raw

Check out the rules for the #alliance's #killerpix photography contest here.


Check out the theme and rules for this week's #wiwcontest ending on May 5th at midnight EST.



Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my photography-101 account here for tips and tutorials about photography.


my banner.png

Sort:  

Great photo, thanks for sharing!

elegance in simplicity

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!

Awesome photo, kudos from me!

A fantastic photo of a wonderful flower! Wish I could smell this one! :)

La Florida = Land Of Flowers :D :D :D Interesting :) And the white magnolia is wonderful :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.02
ETH 3139.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.14