Killerpix Contest Entry for SPHERE

in #killerpix6 years ago

Here's something different: water droplet photography!

Bubble by Derek Kind.jpg
A water droplet passes through a soap bubble without bursting it.

A Sphere within a Semi-Sphere for this week's #Killerpix Contest

https://steemit.com/killerpix/@killerwhale/killerpix-contest-24-20-sbd-in-prizes-submissions-post-plus-winners-from-last-week

I made this by blowing bubbles (yes I used a bubble wand because I'm cool like that) into a pan of water, cajoling them into the focal plane of the camera, then using an eye-dropper in one hand to drip a droplet onto the bubble while triggering the camera with the other hand. It takes a few tries (okay, a LOT of tries), but with a little practice it's easier than you might think to achieve accurate timing. Once you get the timing down it's just a matter of trying a few (hundred) times until you get something that looks cool and is in focus.

Everything about this is real except the colors, which were added in Photoshop (and I blurred the reflections). The reason I didn't use coloured water droplets in-camera was because I didn't want hundreds of drops of food colouring to change the color of the water in the pan. In hindsight, I wish I had dropped food colouring.

I was using a strobe bouncing off a white paper in the background to throw highlights onto the bubbles.

Here's what the original looked like:

IMGP53462.jpg

And here's another good drop from the same day:

IMGP5337.jpg

Thank you for hosting the #Killerpix Challenge, @Killerwhale!

Sort:  

that looks surreal! :) It would just look like I am bored while doing the dishes when I tried that...

lol! Well, why NOT try it while you're bored doing the dishes?

I have a dishwasher... ;) I play #whereisitwednesday while doing the dishes...

Ahaha, okay! Well maybe you should do water droplet photography instead and give someone else a chance. ;)

Kidding by the way, we've loved having you play.

let me think about that...... Hell no! ;)

Well at least you gave it some thought. :p

Haha, nice! :D Now try backlighting it with a white sheet and blocking off light from the sides!

oh you made me remember the times I was experimenting with water drops
those are some cool memories

Yes it was fun, wasn't it! I haven't tried it in a while. I miss playing around like that.

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 6.40 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.28
Server time: 01:11:24
Account Level: 3
Total XP: 778.31/800.00
Total Photos: 41
Total comments: 133
Total contest wins: 10
And have also received a 0.90 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Bubbles!!!!!! I like the last photo best. Pretty awesome project!

Oh, cool! I do like that one too, but figured it's not so good for the contest theme. Thanks! :)

Did you say contest? ooooh. :) I see now. Spheres. Sweet!

Mmhmm. @killerwhale runs a good weekly contest - fun themes!

Dude... This is so cool! This is what I should be doing when I complain that its too cold to take photos outside haha! Also, I sent you a DM on Discord, I dont know if you saw it :)

Thank you! And haha, yes, it's a good indoor activity. ;) I'll check the Discord!

Great little exercise!

Yes, it's fun - creating something out of nothing!

This is such a cool idea. And you tell me you don't take any photos while at home lol!

Well, not in recent times. ;)

That's impressive!! But I think you've got way too much time on your hands, lol :D

Haha, well, this wasn't recent. ;)

I wish I knew how to use photoshop!

The knowledge is within your grasp if you want to learn. :)

I've watched a few "how to" videos... but I don't know, it seems a little beyond me...

It's all a matter of time, and practice, and people learn in different ways: for some, the right video may make things click, others need to see someone work firsthand.

Very true!! Thanks :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.21
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 67203.60
ETH 3513.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.20